New From Lucy Dacus – “Last Christmas”

Ringing in the festive season, Lucy Dacus has released a cover of Wham’s “Last Christmas”. Following the release of acclaimed holiday-themed singles “La Vie En Rose,” “My Mother & I,” “Forever Half Mast,” “Dancing In The Dark,” and “In The Air Tonight” throughout the year, “Last Christmas” is the sixth installment taken from Dacus’ ‘2019’ EP that is out November 8th on Matador Records and can be preordered below. The EP also features an unreleased original tribute to New Year’s titled “Fools Gold.” A special bundle set of the 2019 EP and a limited edition, clear vinyl pressing of Dacus’s breakthrough 2018 album Historian will be available through the Matador Records webstore.

Sped-up, amped-up and delivered through a megaphone to chugging abandon, Dacus’ reworking of “Last Christmas” imbues the sweater-sporting classic with a spontaneous energy that turns it playfully on its head. “I don’t really like Christmas,” says Dacus. “In the studio, we listened to the original of ‘Last Christmas’ and didn’t talk about an arrangement. I just told everyone to play it angry. This is what happened first take. It actually came out pretty fun, maybe a tad psychotic.”

stream / download “Last Christmas”
stream / download “In The Air Tonight”
preorder ‘2019’
stream / preorder ‘Historian’ on clear vinyl

Lucy Dacus on tour :

Friday, November 1 Gothic Theatre, Englewood, CO !
Monday, November 4 Delmar Hall, St Louis, MO !
Tuesday, November 5 Woodward Theatre, Cincinnati, OH !
Wednesday, November 6 Covenant Fine Arts Center, Grand Rapids, MI
Sunday, November 17 Corona Capital Festival, Mexico City MX
Wednesday, December 4 Royale, Boston, MA%
Thursday, December 5 Webster Hall New York, NY%
Saturday, December 7 9:30 Club, Washington, DC%
Sunday, December 29 Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia PA *
Monday, December 30 Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia PA +
Tuesday, December 31 Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia PA &
January 17-19 , Songwriters Festival, South Walton FL
Friday, March 6 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN ^

! w/ Liza Anne
% w/ Haley Heynderickx
* w/ McKinley Dixon
+ w/ Angelica Garcia
& w/ Addy & Mal Blum
^ w/ Ruston Kelly

Lucy Dacus Online
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *