Out Today : Desert Sessions – ‘Vols. 11 & 12’, “Crucifire” Video

(directed by Anthony Francisco Schepperd)

Ending a 16-year hiatus since its last installment, the most mythical, longest running rock n roll mixtape odyssey in existence, Desert Sessions has finally returned: The most ambitious entries yet in its expansive and elusive catalog: ‘Vols. 11 & 12′ (a/k/a respectively as ​’Arrivederci Despair​’ and ‘Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels​’) are now available on LP, CD and via all streaming services.

Highlights of the eight-song two-session collection include the creeping slowburn boogie of “Move Together” with its sublime Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top) vocal, the propulsive rocker “Crucifire” fueled by an incendiary vocal performance from Mike Kerr (Royal Blood), the self-explanatory “Chic Tweetz” featuring the enigmatic Töôrnst Hülpft, and the lush melodies of grand finale “Easier Said Than Done” featuring a showstopping vocal from ringleader Joshua Homme (Queens of the Stone Age).

Desert Sessions ‘Vols. 11 & 12’also arrive in a limited edition first vinyl pressing including a one of a kind custom mix & match body swap booklet. Exclusive merchandise bundles are available now.

‘Vols. 11 & 12’ were recorded (mostly) in December 2018 at Rancho De La Luna studios in Joshua Tree, CA, with Queens of the Stone Age founder and Desert Sessions ringleader/producer Joshua Homme enlisting a cast of players including:

Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top)
Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint)
Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters)
Mike Kerr (Royal Blood)
Carla Azar (Autolux, Jack White)
Les Claypool (Primus)
Matt Sweeney (Chavez, Superwolf, Endless Boogie)
Matt Berry (What We Do in the Shadows, Toast of London)
Libby Grace
Töôrnst Hülpft

The resulting eight songs embody the legacy of freedom from expectations and inhibitions that stretches back to 1997, when Homme led a first retreat to the Joshua Tree desert. What began as a casual writing and recording session amongst friends—isolated from daily distractions and comforts—has since become a possibly infinite body of work. Now spanning 12 volumes over the course of two decades (and a total of two documented live performances), The Desert Sessions has featured some of music’s most cherished icons—past players have included Polly Harvey, Mark Lanegan, Josh Freese, Dean Ween, among many others—deliberately removing themselves from their comfort zones and working together to create some of their most relaxed yet challenging work.

The tracklist for Desert Sessions ‘Vols. 11 & 12′ (a/k/a ​’Arrivederci Despair’​ and ​’Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels’)​ is:
Move Together (lead vocal: Billy F. Gibbons)
Noses in Roses Forever (lead vocal: Joshua Homme)
Far East for the Trees
If You Run (lead vocal: Libby Grace)
Crucifire (lead vocal: Mike Kerr)
Chic Tweetz (vocals: Töôrnst Hülpft, Matt Berry)
Something You Can’t See (lead vocal: Jake Shears)
Easier Said Than Done (lead vocal: Joshua Homme)

(photo : Andreas Neumann

STREAM/ORDER : Desert Sessions – Vols. 11 and 12

Desert Sessions Online :