Steve Gunn – ‘Acoustic Unseen’

(photo : Bobby Fisher)

Steve Gunn today releases ‘Acoustic Unseen’, a new EP of acoustic versions of songs from his critically acclaimed, ‘The Unseen In Between’. Following a year of worldwide touring and road testing the songs with a full band and in solo performances, the 7-song collection presents a spellbinding perspective on this stately set – disclosing the songs’ rich individual elements in Gunn’s dexterous and lyrical guitar style.

“After being on the road with the band since January,” says Gunn, “I wanted to spend an afternoon capturing the songs from ‘The Unseen In Between’ as I originally wrote them, with just me and my acoustic. Mid-year, I went back to the great Strange Weather Studio in Brooklyn, and played through the songs in their most basic form. It felt good.”

Accompanying the EP release is short compilation film “Unseen Anthology”. Directed by The Mitcham Submarine and edited by James Harman, the 12-minute film weaves together footage from touring, live sessions, official and unofficial music videos – including a breathtaking session for Toutpartout in a transformed convent in Ghent, on the road footage captured on a Fisher Price camera by Steve and his band, and acoustic videos filmed across London, including a Cecil Court bookshop. Taken together, it’s an engrossing, one-stop-shop live document of an artist in need of little more than a guitar and his voice to conjure a transfixing atmosphere, and an arresting visual companion to the EP.

stream/download ‘Acoustic Unseen’

Acoustic Unseen – Tracklist
1. New Moon
2. Vagabond
3. Chance
4. Luciano
5. New Familiar
6. Lightning Field
7. Paranoid

STREAM/BUY The Unseen In Between

Steve Gunn on tour :

Friday, October 18 Lambert’s, Austin TX %
Sunday, October 20 Duet Jazz ,The Bob Dylan Center Presents: An Evening with Steve Gunn, Tulsa OK
Wednesday, October 23 Showbox Theater, Seattle WA @%
Thursday, October 24 Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver BC @%
Friday, October 25 Wild Buffalo, Bellingham WA @%
Saturday, October 26 Wonder Ballroom, Portland OR @%
Monday, October 28 Slim’s, San Francisco CA @%
Tuesday, October 29 Slim’s, San Francisco CA @%
Wednesday, October 30 Slim’s, San Francisco CA @%
Sunday, November 3 Shibuya 7th Floor Tokyo JP %
Wednesday, November 6 Tuning Fork, Auckland NZ %
Thursday, November 7 Blue Smoke, Christchurch NZ %
Friday, November 8 Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin NZ %
Saturday, November 9 The Plant, Blenheim NZ %
Sunday, November 10 Moon, Wellington NZ %
Wednesday, November 13 Sitting Room Session, Hawkes Bay NZ %
November 16 + 17 Mullum Music Festival %
Monday, November 18 Junk Bar, Brisbane AU %
Wednesday, November 20 Altar, Hobart AU %
Thursday, November 21 Theatre Royal, Castlemaine AU + %
Friday, November 22 Melbourne Music Week, State Library, Melbourne AU + %
Saturday, November 23 Coalchella, Wombarra Bowlo, Wombarra AU %
Sunday, November 24 Red Rattler, Sydney AU + %

% indicates solo performance
@ w/ Dinosaur Jr.
+ w/ Tiny Ruins

Steve Gunn online :
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Steve Gunn.com

One thought on “Steve Gunn – ‘Acoustic Unseen’”

Comments are closed.