Lucy Dacus – “In The Air Tonight” ; ‘2019’ EP Coming November 8

Lucy Dacus’s ‘2019’ EP  compiling her series of holiday-themed singles will be released on November 8th. Following “La Vie En Rose”, “My Mother & I”, “Forever Half Mast” and most recently “Dancing In The Dark”, today’s EP announcement comes with a new Halloween-inspired cover of Phil Collins’ ‘In The Air Tonight’. Lucy’s ‘2019’ EP will feature two more songs celebrating the winter holidays – a cover of “Last Christmas” and an original ode to New Years titled “Fools Gold”.

In this spirited cover, Lucy revamps ‘In The Air Tonight’ into a Halloween anthem by magnifying the original song’s ominous undertones, bringing the mythology behind Phil Collins’ song to the forefront with haunting vocals and penetrating reverb. In Lucy’s own words, “perhaps the best eerie bop of all time, and certainly the best drum fill. The image in the first verse is so unsettling- watching someone watch someone drown without moving to save them. People have wondered if this is something Phil Collins really witnessed, but the song is actually just a manifestation of his anger and frustration about his divorce. It’s tense, dark, and so much fun, as a good Halloween should be. This was the most fun I’ve ever had in a studio.”

Additionally, a special bundle set of the ‘2019’ EP and a limited edition, clear vinyl pressing of Dacus’s breakthrough 2018 album ‘Historian’ will be available through the Matador Records webstore.


(photo : Elizabeth Weinberg)

2019 Tracklist
1. Fool’s Gold
2. La Vie En Rose
3. My Mother & I
4. Forever Half Mast
5. Dancing In The Dark
6. In The Air Tonight
7. Last Christmas

stream / download “In The Air Tonight”
preorder ‘2019’
stream / preorder ‘Historian’ on clear vinyl

Lucy Dacus on tour :
Wednesday, October 9 Headliner’s, Louisville, KY !
Thursday, October 10 Park West, Chicago, IL !
Friday, October 11 Majestic, Madison, WI !
Saturday, October 12 Cedar Cultural Center, Minneapolis, MN !
Monday, October 14 Slowdown, Omaha, NE !
Wednesday, October 16 The Rialto , Bozeman, MT !
Thursday October 17 Top Hat Lounge, Missoula, MT !
Friday October 18 The Olympic, Boise, ID !
Saturday October 19 The Bartlett, Spokane, WA !
Monday October 21 Hollywood Theatre, Vancouver, BC !
Tuesday October 22 Neumo’s, Seattle, WA !
Wednesday October 23 Aladdin Theater, Portland, OR !
Friday October 25 August Hall, San Francisco, CA !
Saturday October 26 Teragram Theater, Los Angeles, CA !
Sunday October 27 Moroccan Lounge, Los Angeles, CA (SOLD OUT) !
Monday October 28 Belly Up, San Diego, CA !
Tuesday October 29 Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix, AZ !
Thursday, October 31 Meow Wolf, Santa Fe NM!
Friday, November 1 Gothic Theatre, Englewood, CO !
Monday, November 4 Delmar Hall, St Louis, MO !
Tuesday, November 5 Woodward Theatre, Cincinnati, OH !
Wednesday, November 6 Covenant Fine Arts Center, Grand Rapids, MI
Sunday, November 17 Corona Capital Festival, Mexico City MX
Wednesday, December 4 Royale, Boston, MA*
Thursday, December 5 Webster Hall New York, NY*
Saturday, December 7 9:30 Club, Washington, DC*
January 17-19 , Songwriters Festival, South Walton FL

! w/ Liza Anne
* w/ Haley Heynderickx

Lucy Dacus Online
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *