Lucy Dacus – “Forever Half Mast”



In honor of Independence Day, Lucy Dacus has released a new single titled “Forever Half Mast,” . The third installment of her 2019 holiday song series, “Forever Half Mast” follows her Valentine’s Day-inspired  “La Vie En Rose” cover and her ode to Mother’s Day and Taurus Season, an original song titled “My Mother & I.” Lucy’s ongoing 2019 singles series will also include tracks tied to Bruce Springsteen’s birthday, Halloween, Christmas, and New Year’s, with a physical EP coming in the fall.

In “Forever Half Mast,” the twang of a steel guitar compliments Lucy’s gentle strumming and lends a distinctly ‘American’ sound to the song — yet the lyrics convey an attitude towards her home country that is decidedly more ambivalent. Lucy drew inspiration for the song from her experiences touring in Europe, where she was starkly confronted by the complexities of her American identity, and by what it means to be a proud American in these trying times.

In Lucy’s words, “There is a daily dissonance one endures as an American wherein much of our joy is counterweighted by shame, where much of our pride lives in tandem with injustice and suffering. ‘Forever Half Mast’ is about confronting this unavoidable culpability as an American citizen and consumer.  Instead of allowing this guilt to paralyze us, we should try to let it influence us in positive ways.”

stream/download “Forever Half Mast”

Lucy Dacus on tour :
Friday, June 28 Friday Cheers at Brown’s Island, Richmond VA
Tuesday, July 2 FZW, Dortmund DE
Wednesday, July 3 MarX, Hamburg DE
July 4 Roskilde Festival, Roskilde DK
Saturday, July 6 Chapeau Rouge, Prague CZ
Sunday, July 7 Flex Cafe, Vienna AT
Monday, July 8 Conrad Sohm, Dornbirn AT
Saturday, July 27 Newport Folk Festival, Newport RI
Sunday, July 28 Xpnential Music Festival, Camden NJ
Wednesday, July 31, Paramount Theatre, Austin [email protected]
Thursday, September 5 Hopscotch Festival, Raleigh NC
Saturday, September 7 Central Park Summerstage, New York NY * (SOLD OUT)
Sunday, September 8 Central Park Summerstage, New York NY *
Tuesday, September 10 Chameleon Club, Lancaster, PA ##
Wednesday, September 11 Space Ballroom, Hamden, CT ##
Thursday, September 12 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH ##
Saturday, September 14 Grand Point North Festival, Burlington, VT
Sunday, September 15 Ottawa Cityfolk Festival, Ottawa, ONT
Monday, September 16 L’Astral, Montreal , QC ##
Tuesday, September 17 Lee’s Palace, Toronto, ONT ##
Thursday, September 19 El Club, Detroit, MI ##
Friday, September 20 Mr Small’s, Pittsburgh, PA ##
Saturday, September 21 Bristol Rhythm & Roots, Bristol, TN
Wednesday, October 9 Headliner’s, Louisville, KY !
Thursday, October 10 Park West, Chicago, IL !
Friday, October 11 Majestic, Madison, WI !
Saturday, October 12 Cedar Cultural Center, Minneapolis, MN !
Monday, October 14 Slowdown, Omaha, NE !
Wednesday, October 16 The Rialto , Bozeman, MT !
Thursday October 17 Top Hat Lounge, Missoula, MT !
Friday October 18 The Olympic, Boise, ID !
Saturday October 19 The Bartlett, Spokane, WA !
Monday October 21 Hollywood Theatre, Vancouver, BC !
Tuesday October 22 Neumo’s, Seattle, WA !
Wednesday October 23 Aladdin Theater, Portland, OR !
Friday October 25 August Hall, San Francisco, CA !
Saturday October 26 Teregram Theater, Los Angeles, CA !
Monday October 28 Belly Up<, San Diego, CA !
Tuesday October 29 Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix, AZ !
Friday, November 1 Gothic Theatre, Englewood, CO !
Monday, November 4 Delmar Hall, St Louis, MO !
Tuesday, November 5 Woodward Theatre, Cincinnati, OH !
Wednesday, November 6 Covenant Fine Arts Center, Grand Rapids, MI
Sunday, November 17 Corona Capital Festival, Mexico City MX

@ w/ Julien Baker
* w/ Mitski
## w/ Quinn Christopherson
! w/ Liza Anne

Lucy Dacus Online
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *