Lucy Dacus – “My Mother & I”


photo by Elizabeth Weinberg

In honor of both Mother’s Day and Taurus Season, Lucy Dacus has released a new song titled “My Mother and I”, Following her Valentine’s Day cover of “La Vie En Rose,” this is the first original composition of her ongoing 2019 holiday song series, which will also include singles tied to Independence Day, Springsteen’s Birthday, Halloween, Christmas, and New Year’s.

“My Mother And I” is a lullaby of sorts, about “babies born in the month of May” that are “down to earth” and “see eye to eye” and “dig our feet in,” but at its core, it’s a brutally frank exploration of body image and the emotional form it takes when passed down generationally.

In Lucy’s words: “Being adopted has encouraged me to consider what mothers pass on through blood and body, and what they impart in the way of socialization and context. We — daughters, and all children — easily inherit the shame and fear of our mothers, but also the pride, self-assurance, and lessons of love. This song focuses on body image and the distinction between the body and the soul, which I can hardly claim to have clarity about to this day. I also reflect on traits my mother and I share as Taurean women- how we are steadfast but headstrong, empathetic but grounded, and dedicated to finding and giving reliable love and comfort.”

Stream / Purchase “My Mother & I”
Stream/Purchase Historian

Lucy Dacus On Tour

Wednesday, April 24th WFPK’s Waterfront Wednesdays, Louisville KY (Free Show)
Saturday, May 4th Visulite Theater, Charlotte NC +
Sunday, May 5th Shaky Knees Festival, Atlanta GA
Monday, May 6th The Social, Orlando FL +
Tuesday, May 7th The Crowbar, Tampa FL +
Thursday, May 9th One Eyed Jacks, New Orleans LA +
Saturday, May 11th Songbirds North, Chattanooga TN +
Sunday, May 12th The Grey Eagle, Asheville NC +
Friday, May 24 Den Atelier Hollerich, Luxembourg ^
Saturday, May 25 Badehaus, Berlin DE
Monday, May 27 Schlachthof, Wiesbaden DE ^
Tuesday, May 28 Backstage Werk, Munich DE ^
Wednesday, May 29 Alcatraz, Milan IT ^
Friday, May 31 Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona ES
Saturday, June 1 Best Kept Secret Festival, Hilvarenbeek NL
Tuesday, June 4 Boule Noire, Paris FR
Wednesday, June 5 EartH, London UK
Thursday, June 6 Belgrave Music Hall, Leeds UK
Saturday, June 8 Optimus Primavera Sound, Porto PT
Monday, June 10 Bodega, Nottingham UK
Tuesday, June 11 Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh UK
Wednesday, June 12 YES, Manchester UK
Friday, June 14 Mablisfestivalen, Stavanger NO
Saturday, June 15 STHLM Americana, Stockholm SE
Sunday, June 16 Oceanen, Gothenburg SE
Monday, June 17 Plan B, Malmo SE
Wednesday, June 19 De Kreun VZW, Kortrijk BE
Friday, June 28 Friday Cheers at Brown’s Island, Richmond VA
Tuesday, July 2 FZW, Dortmund DE
Wednesday, July 3 MarX, Hamburg DE
July 4 Roskilde Festival, Roskilde DK
Saturday, July 6 Chapeau Rouge, Prague CZ
Sunday, July 7 Flex Cafe, Vienna AT
Monday, July 8 Conrad Sohm, Dornbirn AT
Saturday, July 27 Newport Folk Festival, Newport RI
Sunday, July 28 Xpnential Music Festival, Camden NJ

+ w/ Mothers

^ w/ Jawbreaker

Lucy Dacus Online
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook