Steve Gunn – “Vagabond” – Tribute to Agnes Varda

Steve Gunn has released a tribute to the late director Agnes Varda who, among many other works, created the film Vagabond after which Gunn named the first single off his new album The Unseen In Between. The director of Gunn’s new music video Naomi Yang had these words to share:

The lyrics tie the song very directly to the imagery in the film so I felt the main challenge in making the video was to honor the film without trying to literally recreate it, and to express the emotional weight of Steve’s song which was all his own.

Formally, Varda’s film is structured around 12 long tracking shots of the main character walking from right to left. There are also a few simple reoccurring props in the film: cigarettes, a painting, a transistor radio. These elements I pulled from the film and used in the video. I decided that by echoing some formal elements from the film we could be secretly give a nod to the film in homage, but it would not depend on you knowing the film to understand the song or the video.

I set the video in Pittsburgh – a place that both Steve and I were essentially strangers. Steve and I wandered the edges for 3 days. The thought was Steve was following in the footsteps of the character from Varda’s film, that perhaps she had left right before he arrived, had just moved on – leaving Steve to find only her traces. And after all, isn’t that not unlike the itinerant life of a musician?

Years ago, when I was in Galaxie 500, we arrived in a club in Europe, and found personal greetings in graffiti to us on the wall of the band room. Friends of ours had played the same club the week before, left us a message and moved on.

And now, sadly, Agnés Varda has passed on. But she has left us with her incredible, soulful, mischievous, political, compassionate body of work to discover, rediscover, and be inspired by.

— Naomi Yang, 2019

Steve Gunn continues on his tour dates in support of The Unseen In Between this week in North America, beginning Thursday in Milwaukee. See a full list of upcoming dates below.

STREAM/BUY The Unseen In Between

Steve Gunn On Tour
Thursday, April 18 Cactus Club, Milwaukee WI*
Friday, April 19 Lincoln Hall, Chicago IL *
Saturday, April 20 Storehouse, Galien MI (SOLD OUT)
Sunday, April 21 Off Broadway, St Louis MO*
Monday, April 22 89th Street, Oklahoma City OK*
Tuesday, April 23 Double Wide, Dallas TX *
Wednesday, April 24 Barracuda, Austin TX*
Friday, April 26 Saturn, Birmingham AL*
Saturday, April 27 40 Watt, Athens GA*
Sunday, April 28 The Earl, Atlanta GA*
Monday, April 29 The Basement, Nashville TN*
Tuesday, April 30 The Mothlight, Asheville NC*
Wednesday, May 1 Cat’s Cradle, Carborro, NC*
Thursday, May 2 Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte,NC*
Friday, May 3 Richmond Music Hall, Richmond,VA*
Saturday, May 4 Songbyrd, Washington DC*
Saturday, July 6 Pointu Festival, Corniche des Iles FR
July 11-14 Winnipeg Folk Festival, Winnipeg MB (solo performance)
Wednesday, July 24 Port City Music Hall, Portland ME
Thursday, July 25 3S Artspace, Portsmouth NH
Saturday, July 27 ArtsRiot, Burlington VT
Sunday, July 28 Bar Le ‘Ritz’ P.D.B., Montreal QC
Tuesday, July 30 The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern, Toronto ON
Wednesday, July 31 Club Cafe, Pittsburgh PA
Friday, August 2 Johnny Brenda’s Philadelphia PA
Saturday, August 3 The Bell House Outpost at Industry City, Brooklyn NY ^

* w/ Gun Outfit
^ w/ Hand Habits

Steve Gunn online :
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Steve Gunn.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *