VIDEO : Steve Gunn – “Vagabond”

Steve Gunn today shares a third song off of ‘The Unseen In Between’ (out January 18), the gorgeous “Vagabond” and its accompanying official video. Named after Gunn’s favorite Agnes Varda film, “Vagabond” could almost be the soundtrack to a Denis Johnson short story or Sam Shepard play, with its rich cast of characters whose lives have gone astray — like Mona who “camped out in a graveyard” and Jean-Pierre who “came from the road, his artwork remains unsold.” Accompanied by gorgeous harmonies from Meg Baird, the song is a meditation on our restless times, an ode to the runaways, drifters, and vagabonds trying to make ends meet.

Jason Evans directed the accompanying official video, which includes graphics by Stephen Powers. It’s a stylish black & white performance film with a timeless feel, taking its visual cues from Richard Avedon and David Bailey. The intimacy lends itself well to Gunn’s impeccable guitar work, with close-ups of his fingers casting spells on the frets

(stream / download “Vagabond”
stream / preorder ‘The Unseen In Between’)

Gunn has also announced a lengthy run of new headline full-band tour dates for the spring, which will commence upon his return from playing East Coast, West Coast, and European shows on April 18th in Milwaukee. The full list of tour dates can be found below.

(photo by Clay Benskin)

Steve Gunn on tour (new dates in bold)

Thursday, January 31 Great Scott, Boston MA ^
Friday, February 1 Bowery Ballroom, New York NY ^
Saturday, February 2 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA ^
Thursday, February 7 – The Hangout, Long Beach, CA  (Steve solo)
Friday, February 8 The Casbah, San Diego CA ^
Saturday, February 9 Teragram Ballroom, Los Angeles CA ^
Sunday, February 10 Moe’s Alley, Santa Cruz CA $
Tuesday, February 12 Aladdin Theater, Portland OR $
Wednesday, February 13 Tractor Tavern, Seattle WA $
Saturday, February 16 The Chapel, San Francisco CA #
Tuesday, March 12 Bitterzoet, Amsterdam NL
Wednesday, March 13 Paard, Den Haag NL
Thursday, March 14 Vera, Groningen NL
Friday, March 15 Nochtspeicher, Hamberg DE
Saturday, March 16 Radar, Aarhus DK
Monday, March 18 Folken, Stavanger NO
Wednesday, March 20 Revolver, Oslo NO
Thursday, March 21 Pustervik, Gothenburg SE
Friday, March 22 Loppen, Copenhagen DK
Saturday, March 23 Frannz Club, Berlin DE
Sunday, March 24 Archa Theatre, Prague CZ
Monday, March 25 UT Connewitz, Leipzig DE
Tuesday, March 26 Manufaktur, Schorndorf DE
Wednesday, March 27 Arena, Vienna AT
Saturday, March 30 Südpol, Luzern CH
Sunday, March 31 Rotefabrik, Zurich CH
Monday, April 1 Sonic, Lyon FR
Tuesday, April 2 Le Petit Bain, Paris FR
Wednesday, April 3 De Kreun, Kortrijk BE
Friday, April 5 Oslo, London UK
Saturday, April 6 Hare & Hounds, Birmingham UK
Sunday, April 7 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK
Monday, April 8 Deaf Institute, Manchester UK
Thursday, April 18 – Cactus Club, Milwaukee,WI*
Friday, April 19 – Lincoln Hall, Chicago,IL *
Saturday, April 20 – Storehouse, Galien, MI
Sunday, April 21 – Off Broadway, St Louis,MO*
Monday, April 22 – 89th Street, Oklahoma City,OK*
Tuesday, April 23 –  Double Wide, Dallas TX *
Wednesday, April 24 – Barracuda, Austin TX*
Friday, April 26 – Saturn, Birmingham,AL*
Saturday, April 27 – 40 Watt, Athens, GA*
Sunday, April 28 – The Earl, Atlanta,GA*
Monday, April 29 – The Basement, Nashville TN*
Tuesday, April 30 – The Mothlight, Asheville, NC*
Wednesday, May 1 – Cat’s Cradle, Carborro, NC*
Thursday, May 2 – Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte,NC*
Friday, May 3 – Richmond Music Hall, Richmond,VA*
Saturday, May 4 – Songbyrd, Washington DC*

^ w/ Meg Baird & Mary Lattimore
$ w/ Meg Baird
# w/ Sachiko Kanenobu
* w/ Gun Outfit

Steve Gunn online :
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Steve Gunn.com

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *