Spoon – “Can I Sit Next To You”, Tyler Pope Remix

As Spoon’s relentless global tour in support of album-of-the-year candidate ‘Hot Thoughts’ continues next week, the band have made available a remixed version of “Can I Sit Next To You”. as conceived by Tyler Pope (LCD Soundsystem, Chk Chk Chk). Purchase or stream the remix here.

TOUR DATES (TICKETS)
Saturday, June 17 – Festaal Kreuzberg, Berlin, Germany
Sunday, June 18 – Maifeld Derby Festival, Mannheim, Germany
Monday, June 19 – Technikum, Munich, Germany
Tuesday, June 20 – Uebel & Gefärlich, Hamburg, Germany
Thursday, June 22 – Piknik i Parken, Oslo, Norway
Saturday, June 24 – Amager Bio, Copenhagen, Denmark
Tuesday, June 27 – Gorilla, Manchester, England
Wednesday, June 28 – The Arts School, Glasgow, Scotland
Friday, June 30 – O2 Forum, London, England
Monday, July 3 – Gloria Theater, Cologne, Germany
Wednesday, July 5 – La Maroquinerie, Paris, France
Friday, July 7 – Mad Cool Festival, Madrid, Spain
Saturday, July 8 – NOS Alive, Lisbon, Portugal
Friday, July 14 – Forecastle Festival, Louisville, KY
Saturday, July 15 – Sloss Festival, Birmingham, AL
Tuesday, July 18 – Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre, Charlotte, NC ^
Wednesday, July 19 – Sprint Pavilion, Charlottesville, VA ^
Friday, July 21 – Blue Hills Bank Pavilion, Boston, MA
Saturday, July 22 – State Theatre, Portland, ME ^
Sunday, July 23 – Métropolis, Montreal, Quebec ^
Tuesday, 25 – Massey Hall, Toronto, Ontario #
Wednesday, July 26 – Stage AE, Pittsburgh, PA ^
Friday, July 28 – Panorama Festival, New York, NY
Saturday, July 29 – XPoNential Music Festival, Camden, NJ
Sunday, July 30 – Merriweather Post Pavilion, Columbia, MD &+
Tuesday, August 1 – The Fillmore, Detroit, MI #
Wednesday, August 2 – Metro, Chicago IL
Thursday, August 3 – Lollapalooza, Chicago IL
Sunday, August 6 – Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles, CA &
Tuesday, August 8 – Belly Up Aspen, Aspen, CO
Wednesday, August 9 – Mishawaka Amphitheatre, Bellvue, CO
Friday, August 19 – House of Blues, New Orleans, LA
Sunday, August 20 – Mavericks, Jacksonville, FL
Tuesday, August 22 – Lucas Theater for the Arts, Savannah, GA
Sunday, August 23 – Music Farm, Columbia, SC
Monday, August 28 – Knitting Factory, Spokane, WA
Wednesday, August 30 – Windspear Centre, Edmonton, Alberta
August 31 – Macewan Hall, Calgary, Alberta
Saturday, September 2 – Malkin Bowl, Vancouver, British Columbia
Tuesday, September 5 – Knitting Factory, Boise, ID
Wednesday, September 6 – The Depot, Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, September 8 – Sokol Auditorium, Omaha, NE
Wednesday, September 13 – Pabst Theatre, Milwaukee, WI
Thursday, September 14 – Orpheum Theatre, Madison, WI
Friday, September 15 – Palace Theater, Saint Paul, MN
Saturday, September 30 – Greek Theater, Berkeley, CA $
Sunday, October 1 – Cal Coast Credit Union, San Diego, CA $
Tuesday – October 3 – Comerica Theater, Phoenix, AZ$
Thursday, October 5 – Red Rocks Amphitheater, Denver, CO $
October 6 & October 13 – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Music Festival
Tuesday, October 17 – House of Blues, New Orleans, LA
Friday, October 20 – Music Farm, Columbia, SC
Saturday, October 21 – Maverick, Jacksonville, FL
Thursday, November 2 – Orangerie at Botanique, Brussels, BE
Monday, November 6 – Concorde 2, Brighton, UK
Tuesday, November 7 – Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool, UK
Wednesday, November 9 – The Junction, Cambridge, UK
Saturday, November 11 – Kaserne, Basel, CH
Sunday, November 12, Santeria Social Club, Milano, IT
Tuesday, November 14 – Sala Apolo, Barcelona, ES
Wednesday, November 15 – La Riviera, Madrid, ES
Thursday, November 16 – Porto Coliseum, Porto, PT
Friday, November 17 – Coliseu dos Recreios, Lisbon, PT

^ with the New Pornographers
# with Cherry Glazerr
& with Belle and Sebastian
+ with Andrew Bird
$ with The Shins

Spoon online:

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Official Site

Body/Head – ‘Coming Apart’ double LP / CD – coming September 10

(photograph by Annabel Mehran)

Body/Head are an electric guitar duo comprised of Kim Gordon (CKM, Sonic Youth, Free Kitten, etc.) and Bill Nace (X.O.4, Vampire Belt, Ceylon Mange, etc.) The pair began working together in various loose formats a few years ago, but the Body/Head concept evolved more specifically in early 2012.

Initially their approach was almost entirely instrumental — lattices of interwoven feedback rainbows, with bits recalling everyone from Heldon to Keiji Haino. They usually performed against a backdrop of slow-motion film projection, creating a dream narrative of undeniable power and visionary reach. Kim’s voice began creeping into the mix soon after, and the vocals now have become an intrinsic part of their musical architecture. They have even started writing and playing “songs” now, compositionally distinct from their purely aleatory origins, but still featuring lots of built-in improvisational space.

Body/Head have also worked with guest artists since their inception. An early session with Michael Morley of The Dead C resulted in the Body/Gate/Head LP ‘Glare Luring Yo’, and live collaborations with Ikue Mori. Ikue has been focusing on electronics as her primary instrument in the decades since the end of her groundbreaking trio DNA, but Kim was able to talk her into trying drums again, and the results have been astounding. Ikue’s percussion grounds the spirals of guitar and vocals with its strong central pulse, allowing everybody to achieve greater heights of musical/visual disorientation.

Body/Head have thus far recorded a single for Dennis Tyfuss’ Ultra Eczema Editions, a tour EP for Nace’s own Open Mouth Productions, and released their collaboration with Morley through Feeding Tube Records. Their next release , ‘Coming Apart’, will be issued as a double LP /CD/digital album by Matador Records on September 10 (September 16 in the United Kingdom and Europe)

preorder ‘Coming Apart’ from The Matador Store