Matablog

Archive for the 'radio' Category

TUNE IN NOW: EMA LIVE ON KEXP

By Rian on Wednesday, April 9th, 2014

Tune in today at 9:00AM PST / 12:00PM EST to 90.3FM or KEXP.org to hear EMA live on The Morning Show from The Cutting Room Studios in New York City.

‘The Future’s Void’ was officially released yesterday! Support your local record store OR order ‘The Future’s Void’ directly from us on CD, Cassette and LP (limited edition lavender vinyl available), and there’s a shirt bundle, too.

The band will be hitting the road later this month. Previously announced dates below:

Thursday April 24 – Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel
Friday April 25 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge
Saturday April 26 – Philadelphia, PA – Voyeur
Sunday April 27 – Chapel Hill, NC – Local 506
Tuesday April 29 – Atlanta, GA – Drunken Unicorn
Wednesday April 30 – Nashville, TN – The High Watt
Thursday May 1 – St. Louis, MO – Off Broadway
Saturday May 3 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon
Sunday May 4 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
Monday May 5 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick Lounge
Tuesday May 6 – Toronto, ON – Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Wednesday May 7 – Montreal, QC – Il Motore
Friday May 9 – Brooklyn, NY – Rough Trade
Saturday May 10 – Allston, MA – Great Scott
Saturday, May 17 – Aarhus, Denmark – Pop Revo Festival
Sunday, May 18 – Oslo, Norway – John Dee
Monday, May 19 – Stavanger, Norway – Stavanger Folken
Wednesday, May 21 – Hamburg, Germany – Uebel & Gefährlich
Thursday, May 22 – Koln, Germany – Blue Shell
Friday, May 23 – Berlin, Germany – Prince Charles
Sunday, May 25 – Padova, Italy – Macello
Monday, May 26 – Rome, Italy – Circolo degli Artisti
Tuesday, May 27 – Marina di Ravenna, Italy – Hana Bi
Wednesday, May 28 – Zurich, Switzerland – Bogen
Friday, May 30 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso
Saturday, May 31 – Mannheim, Germany – Maifeld Derby Festival
Sunday, June 1 – Gent, Belgium – DOK-Box
Monday, June 2 – Paris, France – Le Point Ephemere
Tuesday, June 3 – London, UK – The Garage
Wednesday, June 4 – Manchester, UK – Deaf Institute
Thursday, June 5 – Leeds, UK – Brudnell Social Club
Friday, June 6 – Bristol, UK – The Lantern
Monday June 23 – Boise, ID – The Crux
Tuesday June 24 – Salt Lake City, UT – Kilby Court
Wednesday June 25 – Denver, CO – Lost Lake
Friday June 27 – Albuquerque, NM – Low Spirits
Saturday June 28 – Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom
Sunday June 29 – San Diego, CA – Casbah
Tuesday July 1 – Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
Wednesday July 2 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent

Downtown Boys support April 24 through May 10
Trust also support on May 4
Mas Ysa supports June 23 – July 2

Wednesday Night : Yo La Tengo (Continue) Murdering The Classics On Behalf Of WFMU

By Gerard on Monday, February 24th, 2014

In what has become a tradition almost as cherished as declarations the New York Mets are financially solvent, Yo La Tengo will make their annual pilgrimage to WFMU’s Jersey City studios this Wednesday night (February 26, 9pm eastern) for the Evan “Funk” Davies show (co-hosted this week by longtime YLT associate Gaylord Fields). As you’ve probably already guessed, for the the paltry sum of $100, Yo La Tengo will (hopefully) cover a song of your selection, with all funds going to WFMU’s annual Marathon.

You can listen or watch a live video stream at WFMU.org, but be advised that unlike most of the station’s wonderful programing, this show will not be archived for on-demand consumption. You can submit your pledges and song requests here in advance.

Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks – In Session At WFUV

By Gerard on Friday, February 21st, 2014

During January’s week-of-release whirlwind of NYC activity for the release of ‘Wigout At Jagbags’, SM & The Jicks took up Bobby Bonilla’s kind offer to show them the Bronx and topped it off with a session at WFUV. “Shibboleth” is shown above ; there’s also versions of “Lariat” and “Scattegories”.

Stephen Malkmus And The Jicks on Sirius XMU tonight

By Hector on Wednesday, January 22nd, 2014
(photo by Leah Nash)

Traipsing along your Sirius XM dial to Sirius XMU (channel 35) tonight at 9:00PM EST will pay dividends this week, as you’ll be just in time to feast your ears on a performance by the four and only Stephen Malkmus And The Jicks. Not near your satellite radio tonight? Guess what, I’ve personally seen to it that you have three more chances to listen:

Thursday, 1/23 at 4:00PM EST
Friday, 1/24 at 9:00AM EST
Sunday, 1/26 at 12:00 noon EST

I also convinced the band to go on the following tour dates. I really hope you appreciate all this.

Wed Feb 12 – Denver, CO – Gothic Theatre (with Tyvek)
Fri Feb 14 – Columbia, MO – Mojo’s (with Tyvek)
Sat Feb 15 – St. Louis, MO – Old Rock House (with Tyvek)
Sun Feb 16 – Omaha, NE – The Waiting Room (with Tyvek)
Tue Feb 18 – Minneapolis, MN – Cedar Cultural Center (with Tyvek)
Wed Feb 19 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon (with Tyvek)
Thu Feb 20 – Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall (with Disappears)
Fri Feb 21 – Ferndale, MI – The Loving Touch (with Disappears)
Sat Feb 22 – Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace (with Disappears)
Sun Feb 23 – Montreal, QC – Cafe Campus (with Disappears)
Tue Feb 25 – Boston, MA – Paradise (with Disappears)
Wed Feb 26 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom (with Disappears)
Thu Feb 27 – Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg (with Endless Boogie)
Fri Feb 28 – Washington, DC – Black Cat (with Endless Boogie)
Sat March 01 – Philadelphia, PA - Theatre of Living Arts (with Endless Boogie)
Mon March 03 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle (with Purling Hiss)
Tue March 04 – Atlanta, GA – Terminal West (with Purling Hiss)
Wed March 05 – Birmingham, AL – The Bottletree (with Purling Hiss)
Thu March 06 – New Orleans, LA – The Parish @ House of Blues (with Purling Hiss)
Fri March 07 – Houston, TX – Fitzgerald’s Upstairs (with Purling Hiss)
Sun March 09 – Dallas, TX – Granada Theater (with Purling Hiss)
Sat March 15 – Portland, OR – Star Theater
Thu March 27 – San Francisco, CA – Slim’s (with Speedy Ortiz)
Fri March 28 – Los Angeles, CA – El Rey Theatre (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sat March 29 – San Diego, CA – Casbah (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sun March 30 – Pioneertown, CA – Pappy & Harriets Pioneertown (with Speedy Ortiz)
Tue April 01 – Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom (with Speedy Ortiz)
Wed April 02 – Las Vegas, NV – Beauty Bar (with Speedy Ortiz)
Thu April 03 – Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sat April 05 – Missoula, MT - Top Hat (with Speedy Ortiz)
Mon April 7 – Calgary, AB – Republik (with Speedy Ortiz)
Tue April 8 – Edmonton, AB – Starlite Room (with Speedy Ortiz)
Thu April 10 – Vancouver, BC – Rickshaw Theatre (with Speedy Ortiz)
Fri April 11 – Victoria, BC – Lucky Bar (with Speedy Ortiz)
Sat April 12 – Seattle, WA – Neptune Theatre (with Speedy Ortiz)

 

Lee Ranaldo & The Dust – in session today on WFMU, 3pm

By Gerard on Tuesday, January 7th, 2014

Lee Ranaldo & The Dust — confusingly enough, shown above performing at another radio station a few months ago — can be heard today on Brian Turner’s WFMU program from a session recorded this past Saturday afternoon in beautiful Jersey City.

Yo La Tengo: listen again to their BBC 6music session

By Stuart on Tuesday, December 10th, 2013

Yo La Tengo – posing for their Press Pop photo shoot

Given that James, Georgia and Ira have been on tour for pretty much the entire year since Fade was released back in January, you’d think we might have let up on twisting their arm for promotional opportunities, but with the promise of a good meal after, we persuaded them to record a BBC 6music session for Marc Riley last night.  Playing Ohm around the 46 minute mark, they followed with some chat and two more songs, with renditions of Paddle Forward and I’ll Be Around from the 1:16 mark – listen to all of those here.

Gideon Coe’s 6music show followed where the band had pre-recorded Is The Point Of It, also online now.  Currently on their way back to the US, their final shows of the year take place at The Bell House and are all sold-out.

DARKSIDE on The Current tonight

By Hector on Monday, December 9th, 2013
photo by Emeline Ancel-Pirouelle

Wrapping up a recent run of instudio sessions across the country, tonight at 11:00PM EST/10:00PM CST St. Paul’s The Current will be airing their visit from DARKSIDE. Hear Nico and Dave tonight on The Current’s New Hot show. Twin Cities locals can listen in at 89.3FM, while the rest of us have to be content with tuning in online at thecurrent.org.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: the session is now archived on The Current’s site and can be listened to by clicking here.

DARKSIDE on KEXP today

By Hector on Monday, November 18th, 2013

photo by Emeline Ancel-Pirouelle

Last Friday’s DARKSIDE session for KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic went so well that we thought hey, why not do that again, but further north? And so it is that Nicolas and Dave will be going on the air live at Seattle’s KEXP in just under half an hour (2pm EST/11am PST, to be exact). Listen online at KEXP.org, or in Seattle at 90.3FM.

Listen to DARKSIDE’s US radio debut today on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic

By Hector on Friday, November 15th, 2013
photo by Emeline Ancel-Pirouelle

Today on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic, for the first time ever, the duo of Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington (pka (DARKSIDE) will be performing live on US radio. I’m sitting in the control room right now as they run through songs from their debut full-length, Psychic, and trust me, you don’t want to miss this. In Los Angeles, the spot on your radio dial is 89.9FM, and you can also listen online worldwide at KCRW.org. They go on at 2:15PM EST/11:15AM PST, so you have plenty of time to mentally prepare yourself.

Kurt Vile To Appear On The Next-To-Next-To-Next-To-Next-To Last Episode Of “The Best Show On WFMU”

By Gerard on Wednesday, November 13th, 2013

“Lonestar Statesman” – photo by Aaron Sainz

How does a fellow follow being named one of GQ Magazine’s Men Of The Year? I don’t know how Daniel Craig, Tom Brady or Justin Timberlake might answer that question, but if you’re KURT VILE the answer is so blatantly obvious I can’t believe you didn’t see it coming from the goddamn headline above. Next Tuesday night, November 19 at 9pm eastern, Kurt will be be a guest on WFMU‘s “The Best Show On WFMU“, as host Tom Scharpling enters his final month of toiling for free weekly programs for the station. It’s hardly Kurt’s first appearance on “The Best Show”, but given the respective trajectories of their careers —- Kurt entering an orbit only occupied by the entertainment world’s biggest stars, Tom preparing for a transition his handlers say might make him “the next Pat O’Brien” — this could be the final time these two icons are in the same room.

Or maybe they do something similar in a few months. Either way, you won’t want to miss it.