Matablog

Archive for the 'Pretty Girls Make Graves' Category

Ahem. “Brocaine”?

By Gerard on Monday, October 1st, 2007

Bid at your own risk, folks.

Remember how that rare Velvet Underground acetate was unearthed at the Chelsea flea market by a clueless record digger (I hate that guy).
Well people, that was just an hors d’eourve, this is the main course. Here is a chance to own suitable for framing Indie Rock history acetates from hottt Matador band Pretty Girls Make Graves. I happened upon these GRAILS at a rummage sale adjoining a Renaissance Faire in upstate New York. I was dressed as a dark knave.

Two Elan Vital acetates (2) in white sleeves [side A and side B separate one-sided reference pressings]

fun facts about the PGMGA (Pretty Girls Make Graves Acetates):

1) Cosloy briefly hinted at their existence during the 2007 SXSW blogger brunch
2) Trace amounts of brocaine can be found on the side A runout groove (u party?)
3) THIS IS RED ROCKS, THIS IS THE EDGE

Unlike that Velvet Underground acetate playtested hype auction (I hate him), these virginally pure acetates have been untouched by the hand of Man.
This is *investment grade* vinyl, and we would not dare sully it. Only the winner of this auction will decide whether to enjoy these recordings on an audiophile quality system or frame them in rarest teakwood.

Pretty Girls Makes Graves – They’re Outta Here

By Gerard on Thursday, March 22nd, 2007

pretty girls make graves.jpg

(pic swiped from KEXP, used without permission)

By early June, you will no longer have Pretty Girls Make Graves to kick around anymore. And while this is very, very sad news, we do have to give their booking agent full credit — not many persons have the presence of mind to rout a farewell tour around 4 dates in China.

Thursday, April 26 Beijing, China – Mao Live
Friday, April 27, Hong Kong, China – TBA
Saturday, April 28, Shanghai, China – 4Live0
Sunday, April 29, Beijing, China – D22
Thursday, May 10 – MILWAUKEE, WI: Todd Wehr Auditorium
Friday, May 11 – IOWA CITY, IA: The Picador
Saturday, May 12 – CHICAGO, IL: Empty Bottle
Sunday, May 13 – CLEVELAND, OH: Grog Shop
Monday, May 14 – PITTSBURGH, PA: Mr. Small's
Wednesday, May 16 – PHILADELPHIA, PA: North Star
Thursday, May 17 – CAMBRIDGE, MA: Middle East – Downstairs
Friday, May 18 – PROVIDENCE, RI: The Living Room
Saturday, May 19 – NEW YORK, NY: Gramercy Theatre
Sunday, May 20 – WASHINGTON, D.C.: Black Cat
Tuesday, May 22 – ATLANTA, GA: The Earl
Wednesday, May 23 – TAMPA, FL: The Orpheum
Thursday, May 24 – ORLANDO, FL: The Social
Saturday, May 26 – BATON ROUGE, LA: Spanish Moon
Sunday, May 27 – DENTON, TX: Hailey's
Monday, May 28 – AUSTIN, TX: Emo's
Tuesday, May 29 – ALBUQUERQUE, NM: Launchpad
Wednesday, May 30 – TEMPE, AZ: The Clubhouse
Saturday, June 2 – POMONA, CA: Glasshouse
Sunday, June 3 – LOS ANGELES, CA: Troubadour
Monday, June 4 – SAN FRANCISCO, CA: Great American Music Hall
Wednesday, June 6 – PORTLAND, OR: Berbati's Pan
Saturday, June 9 – SEATTLE, WA: Neumo's

Pretty Girls Make Graves – It’s Been Real

By Gerard on Monday, January 29th, 2007

The following message was posted on Pretty Girls Makes Graves' site earlier today.

We are sorry to announce that our upcoming tour in May will be our last. Nick quit the band and the rest of us feel like it wouldn’t be right to continue on without him. The 5 of us feel very lucky to have met and worked with some truly amazing people over the years. Thank you all so much….

Needless to say, though all of us at brutally exploitive label central are very disappointed by this news….we've known about it for ages! Who says Matador can't keep a secret?

In all seriousness, while one of our fave bands on Earth pulling the plug is a sad occasion, it is also a reminder there's something to be said for going out at the top of your game.  And we're also very confident that our friendship with Andrea, Derek, Jay, Nick and Leona is far from finished, and we eagerly whatever else they've got up their sleeves musically or otherwise.  To say we're fortunate to have been associated with such awesome people would be the understatement of this Monday morning. 

The Final Pretty Girls Make Graves Dates Of 2006

By Gerard on Tuesday, December 12th, 2006

unless someone tells us about some more!

Friday, Dec. 15 – PORTLAND, OR: Berbati's Pan w/ Swan Island, Kiki
Saturday, Dec. 16 – SEATTLE, WA: Chop Suey w/ Prototypes, Yogoman Burning

September News Report Posted

By Patrick on Thursday, September 21st, 2006

The September News Report has been posted. Regular blog readers may find some stuff they already know, but there’s plenty of new tidbits as well.

Pretty Girls Make Graves – exclusive iTunes EP

By Gerard on Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006

Pretty Girls Make Graves, as captured in the creative hotbed of Los Angeles, CA, 4 songs, $3.96. But you can’t put a pricetag on the wonderful feelings deep inside this EP will stir.

1) Pyrite Pedestal

2) The Number

3) Pictures Of A Night Scene

4) Domino Dub Mix

available now from the iTunes Music Store.

Takin’ It to the Streets: Pretty Girls Make Graves on Tour

By Joel on Friday, August 11th, 2006

Much like another of my favorite bands, the Doobie Brothers* (except with no Rerun bootlegging the show), Pretty Girls Make Graves are takin’ it to the streets this Fall all over these United States, with She Wants Revenge, Monsters Are Waiting, A Gun Called and many others soon to be announced. And not to be outdone in the grand ol’ U.S. of three-hours-to-board-a-plane-with-no-water A., PGMG fans in Mexico can also catch them rock at the beggining of September:

Saturday, Sept. 2: Mexico City, MX – Toreo Cuatro Caminos

Sunday, Oct. 29: Milwaukee, WI – Mad Planet w/ A Gun Called Tension
Monday, Oct. 30: Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock w/ A Gun Called Tension
Tuesday, Oct. 31: Tulsa, OK – Cain’s Ballroom w/ She Wants Revenge
Wednesday, Nov. 1: Des Moines, IA – Val Air Ballroom w/ She Wants Revenge
Thursday, Nov. 2: DAY OFF
Friday, Nov. 3: Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle w/ A Gun Called Tension
Saturday, Nov. 4: Toronto, ON – El Mocambo w/ A Gun Called Tension
Sunday, Nov. 5: Montreal, QC – Club Lambi w/ A Gun Called Tension
Monday, Nov. 6: DAY OFF
Tuesday, Nov. 7: Brooklyn, NY – Northsix w/ A Gun Called Tension
Wednesday, Nov. 8: Philadelphia, PA – First Unitarian Church
Thursday, Nov. 9: Washington, D.C. – 9:30 Club w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Friday, Nov. 10: Charlottesville, VA – Satellite Ballroom w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Saturday, Nov. 11: North Myrtle Beach, S.C. – House of Blues w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Monday, Nov. 13: Orlando, FL – The Club At Firestone w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Tuesday, Nov. 14: Atlanta, GA – Earthlink Live w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Wednesday, Nov. 15: Baton Rouge, LA – Varsity Theater w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Thursday, Nov. 16: Houston, TX – Meridian w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Friday, Nov. 17: Austin, TX – Stubb’s BBQ w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Saturday, Nov. 18: Dallas, TX – Gypsy Ballroom w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Monday, Nov. 20: Tucson, AZ – Rialto Theatre w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Tuesday, Nov. 21: San Diego, CA – House of Blues w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Wednesday, Nov. 22: Anaheim, CA – The Grove of Anaheim w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting
Saturday, Nov. 25: Las Vegas, NV – House of Blues w/ She Wants Revenge and Monsters Are Waiting

Go see them, they’ll rock your socks (and Jeff “Skunk” Baxter’s moustache) off!

*Discerning music fans of course know that the Doobies were named by none other than the late, great Alexander “Skip” Spence. If you don’t own the complete and utter masterpiece that is his album Oar, well, you should.

UPDATE: Apparently Rog from “What’s Happening” is on MySpace! God bless the internets!

Pretty Girls Makes Graves, New Dates

By Gerard on Monday, August 7th, 2006

(live at London’s 100 Club last April, photo by Vern, used without permission)

Thursday, Nov. 9: Washington, D.C. – 9:30 Club
Friday, Nov. 10: Charlottesville, VA – Satellite Ballroom
Saturday, Nov. 11: North Myrtle Beach, S.C. – House of Blues
Monday, Nov. 13: Orlando, FL – The Club At Firestone
Tuesday, Nov. 14: Atlanta, GA – Earthlink Live
Wednesday, Nov. 15: Baton Rouge, LA – Varsity Theater
Thursday, Nov. 16: Houston, TX – Meridian
Friday, Nov. 17: Austin, TX – Stubb’s BBQ
Saturday, Nov. 18: Dallas, TX – Gypsy Ballroom
Monday, Nov. 20: Tucson, AZ – Rialto Theatre
Tuesday, Nov. 21: San Diego, CA – House of Blues

All dates supporting She Wants Revenge. They say revenge is a dish best served cold, but as cannibalism is against the law in most of the states on the above schedule, please be advised that eating utensils are likely to be confiscated at the door (sorry).