Matablog

Archive for the 'concertos' Category

SAVAGES CURATED FESTIVALS: SONIC CITY + LE GUESS WHO?

By Blue on Wednesday, May 25th, 2016

That’s right folks. As if they haven’t given you enough already, Savages will also bring to you two undoubtedly phenomenal line-ups for this year’s Sonic City Festival and Le Guess Who? Festival.

The first of these, Sonic City, will take place in Kortrijk in Belgium on 12th and 13th of November 2016. Last year saw the festival curated by the Canadian group formerly known as Viet Cong (now Preoccupations) which featured bands such as The Thurston Moore Band, Bo Ningen and Protomartyr, amongst others. Savages will no doubt bring another impressive line-up – which is yet to be announced. Early bird tickets have already sold out. More info below.

Le Guess Who? takes place in the quaint town of Utrecht in the Netherlands during the same weekend 10th – 13th November 2016. Savages are one of four curators for this festival alongside Wilco, Julia Holter and SUUNS. You can see the first announcement of artists in the poster below. More to be announced.

Savages are currently on tour. All dates below.

May, 25 - Starlite Room, Edmonton, Canada
May, 27 – Imperial Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada
May, 28 – Wonder Ballroom, Portland, OR
June 1-5: Primavera Sound, Barcelona, ES
June 2-4: Bad Bonn Festival Kilbi 2016, Dudingen, Switzerland
June 4-5: We Love Green 2016, Paris, France
June 9-11: NOS Primavera Sound, Porto, Portugal
June 16: Metro Theatre, Sydney, Australia
June 18: Dark Mofo 2016, Hobart, Australia
June 19: Corner Hotel, Melbourne, Australia
June 24: Glastonbury Festival, UK
June 24-26: Down The Rabbit Hole, Beuningen, Netherlands
June 25-2: Roskilde Festival, Roskilde, Denmark
June 30 – July 3: Rock Werchter, Werchter, Belgium
July 2-3: Plaine de la Filhole, Marmande, France
Sunday, July 17 – The Rave II (Downstairs) – Milwaukee, WI
Tuesday, July 19 – The Ballroom At the Taft - Cincinnati, OH
Wednesday, July 20 - Mercury Ballroom - Louisville, KY
Thursday, July 21 – Deluxe – Indianapolis, IN
Tuesday, July 26 – Ace of Spades - Sacramento, CA
Wednesday, July 27 – The Catalyst - Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, July 29 – Observatory North Park – San Diego, CA
Saturday, July 30 – The Observatory - Santa Ana, CA

Aug 4-7: Ypsigrock Festival, Palermo, Italy
Aug 9-13: Oya Festival, Oslo, Norway
Aug 11-14: La Route Du Rock, Saint-Malo, France
Aug 20: Midnight Sonic, Chiba, Japan
Aug 26: Bramham Park, Wetherby, UK
Aug 26-28: Reading Festival, UK
Sep 2-4: Electric Picnic, Stradbally, Ireland
Sep 2-4: End of the Road Festival, Salisbury, UK

BUY LINKS

order ‘ Adore Life’ from the following “

The Matador Store
Amazon
iTunes
Google Play
Streaming

 

Savages online :
Savagesband.com
Facebook
Twitter
Tumblr
Instagram

NEW SONG: STEVE GUNN “PARK BENCH SMILE”

By Rian on Monday, May 23rd, 2016

(photo: Shawn Brackbill)

Earlier this morning USA Today premiered “Park Bench Smile” which happens to be the last taste of Eyes On The Lines before the new album is released on June 3rd. The song is accompanied by a lyric video made by Marisa Gesualdi. Steve and his band The Outliners can be found all over the world the rest of the year… see all new dates below (including Woodsist and Catskills Back Forty Revival).

PRE-ORDER LINKS
The Matador Store
Steve Gunn Store
iTunes
Amazon
Google
Spotify

US TOUR DATES

Thursday, June 9 – Northside Festival, Brooklyn, NY
Saturday, June 11 – Bonnaroo, Manchester, TN
Monday, June 13 – Gasa Gasa, New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, June 14 – Rudyard’s, Houston, TX
Wednesday, June 15 – The Sidewinder, Austin, TX
Thursday, June 16 – Three Links Deep Ellum, Dallas, TX
Friday, June 17 – Stickyz Rock’n’Roll Chicken Shack, Little Rock, AR
Saturday, June 18 – Off Broadway, St. Louis, MO
Sunday, June 19 – The Riot Room, Kansas City, MO
Monday, June 20 – 7th St Entry, Minneapolis, MN

Tuesday, June 21 – Cactus Club, Milwaukee, WI
Thursday, June 23 – Schubas, Chicago, IL
Friday, June 24 – Marble Bar, Detroit, MI
Saturday, June 25 – The Great Hall, Toronto, ON
Sunday, June 26 – La Vitrola, Montreal, Canada
Tuesday, June 28 – 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH
Wednesday, June 29 – Great Scott, Boston, MA
Thursday, June 30 – Garcia’s at The Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY
Saturday, July 9 – Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA
Sunday, July 10 – Black Cat, Washington, DC
Monday, July 11 – The Southern, Charlottesville, VA
Tuesday, July 12 – Kings, Raleigh, NC
Wednesday, July 13 – The Mothlight, Asheville, NC
Thursday, July 14 – Exit/In, Nashville, TN
Friday, July 15 – Eddie’s Attic, Decatur, GA
Saturday, July 16 – Sloss Music & Arts Festival, Birmingham, AL
Sunday, July 17 – Forecastle, Louisville, KY
Tuesday, July 26 – Woodsist Festival, Big Sur, CA
Saturday, August 6 – Catskills Back Forty Revival @ Catskills Brewery, Livingston Manor, NY
Wednesday, Sep. 21 –  Barboza, Seattle, WA
Thursday, Sep. 22 –  The Bartlett, Spokane, WA
Friday, Sep. 23 –  Fortune Sound Club, Vancouver, BC
Sat. Sep. 24 – Mississippi Studios, Portland, OR
Wed. Sep. 28 – The Chapel, San Francisco, CA
Fri. Sep. 30 – The Echo, Los Angeles, CA
Sat. Oct. 1 –  Soda Bar, San Diego, CA

EUROPEAN TOUR DATES

Thursday, April 21 – The Lexington, London, UK
Wednesday, May 18 – Le Batofar, Paris, FR
Thursday, May 19 – Les Nuits Botanique, Brussels, BE
Friday, May 20 – Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam, NL
Saturday, May 21 – Kantine am Berghain, Berlin, DE
Sunday, May 22 – Loppen, Copenhagen, DK
Monday, May 23 – Molotow, Hamburg, DE
Tuesday, May 24 – UT Connewitz, Leipzig, DE
Wednesday, May 25 – Manufaktur, Schorndorf, DE
Thursday, May 26 – Sudpol, Kriens, CH
Friday, May 27 – Le Sonic, Lyon, FR
Saturdat, May 28 – Le Phare, Limoges, FR
Sunday, May 29 – Psilocybenea, Hondarribia, ES
Monday, May 30 – gnration, Braga, PT
Tuesday, May 31 – ZDB, Lisboa, PT
Wednesday, June 1 – Berlin Cafe, Madrid, ES
Thursday, June 2 – Loco Club, Valencia, ES
Friday, June 3 – Primavera Sound, Barcelona, ES
Sunday, June 5 – This Is Not A Love Song, Nimes, FR

6/09 w/ Cut Worms
6/11-6/30 w/ Promised Land Sound
6/26 also w/ Tim Darcy
7/09-7/15 w/ Spacin’
7/09 also w/ Nap Eyes
7/26 w/ Woods, Kevin Morby, Michael Hurley and more
8/06 w/ The Felice Brothers

There’s No Denying Car Seat Headrest’s ‘Teens Of Denial’ Is Out Today (On Some Formats, But Not All)

By Gerard on Friday, May 20th, 2016

(photo by Anna Webber)

Alright, after last week’s highly publicized drama concerning THOUSANDS UPON THOUSANDS of LP’s and CD’s being destroyed, we are very proud to announce that today, Friday, May 20 marks the official (digital) release of Car Seat Headrest’s hotly anticipated ‘Teens Of Denial’. Stereogum’s Tom Breihan calls it, “a sprawling concept album about what it’s like to be young and empty,” (“a powerful, cutting, incisive portrait of an entire generation that’s been economically fucked by previous generations’ greed”), while Pitchfork’s Jeremy Gordon testifies that TOD represents, “a firm declaration of talent”, calling Will Toledo, “an incredibly imaginative, insightful singer-songwriter.”  We’re no experts on the law (for instance, check that business about our destroying thousands upon thousands of LP’s and CD’s), but I’m pretty sure Tom and Jeremy wouldn’t be allowed to write these things if they weren’t 100% accurate.

In all seriousness, ‘Teens Of Denial’ is available today via digital download or thru your favorite streaming service. The amended and 100% LEGAL double LP and CD can be preordered via the link below. In addition, there’s some new tour dates which are highlighted in B-O-L-D.

Saturday, May 21 – Rough Trade, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT)
Monday, May 23 – Black Cat, Washington DC
Thursday, May 28 - London Calling, Amsterdam (NL)
Friday, May 29 – Big Next, Gent (B)
Monday, May 30 – L’Espace B, Paris
Tuesday, May 31 – Le Sonic, Lyon
Thursday, June 2 – Primavera Sound, Barcelona (ES)
Friday, June 3 – This Is Not A Love Song, Nimes (F)
Saturday, June 4 – Bad Bonn Kilbi Festival, Düdingen (CH)
Monday, June 6 – Beaches Brew, Ravenna (IT)
Friday, June 10 – Paraque de Cidade, Porto, PT
Wednesday, June 8 – Le Saint des Seins, Toulouse
Thursday, June 9 – Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux
Saturday, June 11 – Primavera Sound, Porto (PT)
Tuesday, June 14 – Privatclub, Berlin (D)
Friday, June 17 - Beanpole, Dresden (D)
Saturday, June 18 – Molotow, Hamburg (D)
Monday, June 20 – The Hope, Brighton (UK)
Tuesday, June 21 – 100 Club, London (UK)
Wednesday, June 22 – The Deaf Institute, Manchester (UK)
Thursday, June 23 – Broadcast, Glasgow (UK)
Sunday, June 26 – Down The Rabbit Hole, Beuningen (NL)
Tuesday, June 28 – Mejeriet, Lund (SE)
Wednesday, June 29 – Debaser Strand, Stockholm (SE)
Thursday, June 30 – Pustervik , Göteborg (SE)
Saturday, July 9 – 4 Knots Festival, NYC NY
Saturday, July 16 – Pitchfork Music Festival, Chicago IL
Saturday, July 16 – Empty Bottle, Chicago IL (evening show)
Sunday, July 17 – Turner Hall, Milwaukee WI (on sale 4-29)
Monday, July 18 – Triple Rock Social Club, Minneapolis, MN
Friday, July 22 – Capital Hill Block Party, Seattle WA
Thursday, July 28 – Eventide Victoria, Victoria BC
Saturday, August 20 – Maha Music Festival, Omaha NE
Tuesday, August 30 – Neurolux, Boise ID
Wednesday, August 31 – Urban Lounge, Salt Lake City UT
Thursday, September 1 – Bluebird Theatre, Denver CO
Monday, September 5 – The Ready Room, St. Louis MO
Tuesday, September 6  – Proud Larry’s, Oxford MS
Wednesday, September 7, Mercy Lounge, Nashville TN
Thursday, September 8 – Terminal West, Atlanta GA
Friday, September 9 – Hopscotch Music Festival, Raleigh NC
Saturday, September 10 – Grey Eagle, Asheville NC
Monday, September 12 – The National, Richmond VA
Saturday, September 17 – The Sinclair, Cambridge MA
Sunday, September 18 – Bar Le Ritz PDB, Montreal, QC
Monday, September 19 – Virgin Mobile Mod Club, Toronto, ON
Wednesday, September 21- El Club, Detroit, MI
Sunday, September 25 – Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland, OH
Tuesday, September 27 – Majestic Theater, Madison, WI

Order ‘Teens Of Denial’ from the following :
The Matador Store (2XLP, CD or digital versions)
iTunes
Bandcamp
Google
Amazon
Car Seat Headrest on Spotify
Car Seat Headrest on Apple Music

Car Seat Headrest online :
Facebook
Tumblr
Twitter
Instagram
Bandcamp
Reddit

New Savages U.S. Dates In July

By Gerard on Thursday, May 5th, 2016

(photography by TIM)

The day after an appearance at Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival, Savages will kick off a further 8 U.S. shows (in bold below) with tickets on sale tomorrow (Friday, May 6)

Sunday, July 17 – The Rave II (Downstairs) – Milwaukee, WI
Tuesday, July 19 – The Ballroom At the Taft - Cincinnati, OH
Wednesday, July 20 - Mercury Ballroom - Louisville, KY
Thursday, July 21 – Deluxe – Indianapolis, IN
Tuesday, July 26 – Ace of Spades - Sacramento, CA
Wednesday, July 27 – The Catalyst - Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, July 29 – Observatory North Park – San Diego, CA
Saturday, July 30 – The Observatory - Santa Ana, CA

previously announced dates :
May, 14 – Exit In, Nashville, TN
May, 15 – Ace of Cups, Columbus, OH
May, 17 – Mr Small’s Theatre, Pittsburgh, PA
May, 18 – Grog Shop Cleveland, OH
May, 20 - High Noon Saloon, Madison WI
May, 21 – Fine Line Music Cafe, Minneapolis, MN
May, 22 – WECC, Winnipeg, Canada
May, 24 – Commonwealth Bar & Stage, Calgary Canada
May, 25 - Starlite Room, Edmonton, Canada
May, 27 – Imperial Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada
May, 28 – Wonder Ballroom, Portland, OR
June 1-5 – Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona ESP SOLD OUT
June 24-26 Glastonbury Festival, Pilton, Somerset UK
June 24-26 – Down The Rabbit Hole Festival, Ewijk, The Netherlands
June 29-July 2, Roskilde Festival, Roskilde, Denmark
July 16, Pitchfork Music Festival, Union Park, Chicago IL

BUY LINKS

order ‘ Adore Life’ from the following “

The Matador Store
Amazon
iTunes
Google Play
Streaming

Savages online :
Savagesband.com
Facebook
Twitter
Tumblr
Instagram

MORE Car Seat Headrest Tour Dates Announced

By Rian on Wednesday, April 27th, 2016

Teens Of Denial is out in less than a month (May 20th to be specific) and the upcoming Spring/Summer tour continues to fill out. A handful of dates around Pitchfork Festival have been announced. Full list of dates below, with the new additions in BOLD.

Saturday, May 21 – Rough Trade, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT)
Monday, May 23 – Black Cat, Washington DC
Thursday, May 28 - London Calling, Amsterdam (NL)
Friday, May 29 – Big Next, Gent (B)
Monday, May 30 – L’Espace B, Paris
Tuesday, May 31 – Le Sonic, Lyon
Thursday, June 2 – Primavera Sound, Barcelona (ES)
Friday, June 3 – This Is Not A Love Song, Nimes (F)
Saturday, June 4 – Bad Bonn Kilbi Festival, Düdingen (CH)
Monday, June 6 – Beaches Brew, Ravenna (IT)
Friday, June 10 – Paraque de Cidade, Porto, PT
Wednesday, June 8 – Le Saint des Seins, Toulouse
Thursday, June 9 – Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux
Saturday, June 11 – Primavera Sound, Porto (PT)
Tuesday, June 14 – Privatclub, Berlin (D)
Friday, June 17 - Beanpole, Dresden (D)
Saturday, June 18 – Molotow, Hamburg (D)
Monday, June 20 – The Hope, Brighton (UK)
Tuesday, June 21 – 100 Club, London (UK)
Wednesday, June 22 – The Deaf Institute, Manchester (UK)
Thursday, June 23 – Broadcast, Glasgow (UK)
Sunday, June 26 – Down The Rabbit Hole, Beuningen (NL)
Tuesday, June 28 – Mejeriet, Lund (SE)
Wednesday, June 29 – Debaser Strand, Stockholm (SE)
Thursday, June 30 – Pustervik , Göteborg (SE)
Saturday, July 16 – Pitchfork Music Festival, Chicago IL
Saturday, July 16 – Empty Bottle, Chicago IL (on sale now)
Sunday, July 17  – Turner Hall, Milwaukee WI (on sale 4-29)
Monday, July 18 – Triple Rock Social Club,  Minneapolis, MN (on sale now)
Friday, July 22 – Capital Hill Block Party, Seattle WA
Thursday, July 28 – Eventide Victoria, Victoria BC

Preorder ‘Teens Of Denial’ from the following :
The Matador Store
iTunes
Bandcamp
Google
Amazon
Car Seat Headrest on Spotify
Car Seat Headrest on Apple Music

Car Seat Headrest online :
Facebook
Tumblr
Twitter
Instagram
Bandcamp

New Steve Gunn Tour Dates Announced

By Rian on Tuesday, April 26th, 2016

Steve Gunn and his band are going to be very busy with touring the next several months. There are a handful of NEW dates that were announced earlier today. You can see them below in BOLD.

Don’t tell anyone I told you, but there is new music from Eyes On The Lines on the way… The album is out June 3rd.

US TOUR DATES

Friday, April 8 – Outpost in the Burbs, Montclair, NJ
Thursday, June 9 – Northside Festival, Brooklyn, NY
Saturday, June 11 – Bonnaroo, Manchester, TN
Monday, June 13 – Gasa Gasa, New Orleans, LA
Tuesday, June 14 – Rudyard’s, Houston, TX
Wednesday, June 15 – The Sidewinder, Austin, TX
Thursday, June 16 – Three Links Deep Ellum, Dallas, TX
Friday, June 17 – Stickyz Rock’n'Roll Chicken Shack, Little Rock, AR
Saturday, June 18 – Off Broadway, St. Louis, MO
Sunday, June 19 – The Riot Room, Kansas City, MO
Monday, June 20 – 7th St Entry, Minneapolis, MN

Tuesday, June 21 – Cactus Club, Milwaukee, WI
Thursday, June 23 – Schubas, Chicago, IL
Friday, June 24 – Marble Bar, Detroit, MI
Saturday, June 25 – The Great Hall, Toronto, ON
Sunday, June 26 – La Vitrola, Montreal, Canada
Tuesday, June 28 – 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH
Wednesday, June 29 – Great Scott, Boston, MA
Thursday, June 30 – Garcia’s at The Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY
Saturday, July 9 – Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA
Sunday, July 10 – Black Cat, Washington, DC
Monday, July 11 – The Southern, Charlottesville, VA
Tuesday, July 12 – Kings, Raleigh, NC
Wednesday, July 13 – The Mothlight, Asheville, NC
Thursday, July 14 – Exit/In, Nashville, TN
Friday, July 15 – Eddie’s Attic, Decatur, GA
Saturday, July 16 – Sloss Music & Arts Festival, Birmingham, AL
Sunday, July 17 – Forecastle, Louisville, KY

EUROPEAN TOUR DATES

Thursday, April 21 – The Lexington, London, UK
Wednesday, May 18 – Le Batofar, Paris, FR
Thursday, May 19 – Les Nuits Botanique, Brussels, BE
Friday, May 20 – Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam, NL
Saturday, May 21 – Kantine am Berghain, Berlin, DE
Sunday, May 22 – Loppen, Copenhagen, DK
Monday, May 23 – Molotow, Hamburg, DE
Tuesday, May 24 – UT Connewitz, Leipzig, DE
Wednesday, May 25 – Manufaktur, Schorndorf, DE
Thursday, May 26 – Sudpol, Kriens, CH
Friday, May 27 – Le Sonic, Lyon, FR
Saturdat, May 28 – Le Phare, Limoges, FR
Sunday, May 29 – Psilocybenea, Hondarribia, ES
Monday, May 30 – gnration, Braga, PT
Tuesday, May 31 – ZDB, Lisboa, PT
Wednesday, June 1 – Berlin Cafe, Madrid, ES
Thursday, June 2 – Loco Club, Valencia, ES
Friday, June 3 – Primavera Sound, Barcelona, ES
Sunday, June 5 – This Is Not A Love Song, Nimes, FR

PRE-ORDER LINKS

 

JUST ANNOUNCED – KURT VILE SOLO AT DALLAS’ GOOD RECORDS ON RSD, DYLAN FEST

By Rian on Tuesday, April 12th, 2016

If you’re in the Dallas area and tried to get tickets to this Saturday’s show at Granada and were bummed to see that it’s sold out, I have some good news…

Kurt will be performing solo on Record Store at at Dallas’ Good Records. If you don’t know when Record Store Day is, it’s this Saturday, April 16th. Flyer with more details below. Kurt’s on at 3pm, local.

That’s not all the Kurt Vile news we have for you today. Dylan Fest in Nashville was just announced and Kurt will be among a pretty incredible list of other performers that will be helping celebrate Bob Dylan’s 75th birthday. Proceeds go to Thistle Farms. Tickets are on sale April 16th.