Snail Mail Signs To Matador, Watch Tiny Desk Session


(photo by Bryan Regan)

Brooklyn-via-Baltimore singer /songwriter/guitar prodigy Lindsey Jordan aka Snail Mail is the latest addition to the Matador Records roster.  Snail Mail will release a full-length album in 2018, following Sister Polygon’s 2017 12″ reissue of the of the introductory cassette, ‘Habit’.  Snail Mail’s NPR Tiny Desk concert premiered this morning, and might provide a hint or several why press, musical peers (including but not limited to Waxahatchee, Priests and Girlpool), and yeah, record labels have taken so much interest in a short spell..

(prior praise for ‘Habit’)

“There’s no grandstanding here, no attempts at hiding how truly confusing it is to be young and feel like the world is simultaneously infinite and hopeless. Perhaps that is why Snail Mail sound so alive despite much tangible optimism: there’s no person behind a curtain, the ugly resides in reality.” – Quinn Moreland, Pitchfork

“Jordan has a voice that only comes along every now and then … she is able to fit a universe of emotion into a single turn of phrase without any vocal affectation … whether she’s muttering or shouting, you feel the heartbreak, the frustration, the joy that came with writing these lyrics” -Stereogum

 
a minimalist swirl of drowsy tempos, unassumingly meticulous guitar parts, and the sort of entry-level existentialism that’s too pure to be pretentious.”  – Patrick D. McDermott, The Fader

Snail Mail on tour:
Wed October 11 The Met Pawtucket, RI *
Thu October 12 The Sinclair Cambridge, MA *
Fri October 13 Montreal, QC *
Sat October 14 Lee’s Palace Toronto, ON *
Sun October 15 Loving Touch Ferndale, MI *
Mon October 16 The Bishop Bloomington, IN
Tue October 17 Bottom Lounge Chicago, IL *
Wed October 18 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN *
Thu October 19 Reverb Omaha, NE
Fri October 20 Cafe Berlin Columbia, MO
Sat October 21 Exit/In Nashville, TN *
Sun October 22 The Masquerade Purgatory Atlanta, GA *
Tue October 24 9:30 Club Washington, DC *
Wed October 25 Capital Ale House Richmond, VA *
Fri October 27 First Unitarian Church Philadelphia, PA *
Sat October 28 Brooklyn Steel Brooklyn, NY *

* w/ Beach Fossils & Raener

In other Snail Mail news, NPR released a Tiny Desk session featuring two songs you might recognize from Habit (“Slug” and “Thinning”) as well as a new song…

Snail Mail online :
Facebook
Instagram
Bandcamp

 

1 thought on “Snail Mail Signs To Matador, Watch Tiny Desk Session”

  1. This young lady and her band should be getting more fame by way of radio airplay while being on an independent record label, but due to the way that commercial radio in (North) America is now, that won’t really happen, which is a shame.

    I will enjoy this video and the songs in it despite that, and will buy her forthcoming album too.

Comments are closed.