Kurt Vile’s ‘Squidbillies’ Theme Premiere + Summer Touring Commences

KV tourin copy

(photo credit: Rob Laakso)

Kurt has covered the Squidbillies theme song, an honor bestowed also to Father John Misty and Sharon Van Etten, among others. Listen to the theme below as well as take a look at a behind the scenes video.


Thursday, July 14 – Super Bock Super Rock, Lisbon, Portugal
Saturday, July 16 – Latitude Festival, Southwold, UK
Friday, July 22 – XPoNential Music Festival, Camden, NJ
Saturday, July 23 – Wayhome Music & Arts Festival, Toronto, ONT
Sunday, July 24 – Panorama Festival, New York NY
Monday, July 25 – The NorVA, Norfolk VA
Wednesday, July 27 – Deluxe @ Old National Theatre, Indianapolis IN
Thursday, July 28 – Lollapalooza, Chicago IL
July 29-31 – Osheaga Festival, Montreal, QC, Canda
Saturday, August 6 – Rialto Theatre, Tucson AZ
Sunday, August 7 – Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles CA
Tuesday, August 9 – House of Blues, San Diego CA
Wednesday, August 10 – Strummers, Fresno CA
Thursday, August 11 – The Catalyst, Santa Cruz CA
Friday, August 12 – Greek Theatre, Berkeley CA
Saturday, August 13 – Greek Theatre, Berkeley CA
Monday, August 15 – Brooklyn Bowl, Las Vegas NV
Tuesday, August 16 – Urban Lounge, Salt Lake City, UT
Wednesday, August 17 – Red Rocks Amphitheatre, Morrison CO ^
Friday, August 19 – Breese Stevens Field, Madison WI
Saturday, August 20 – Historic Halls Island, Minneapolis, MN
Sunday, August 21 – Codfish Hollow Barn, Maquoketa IA
Tuesday, August 23 – The Pageant, St. Louis MO
Wednesday, August 24 – Manchester Music Hall, Lexington KY
Thursday, August 25 – Live On The Green Music Festival, Nashville TN
Friday, August 26 – Madison Theatre, Covington KY
Saturday, August 27 – Chameleon Club, Lancaster PA
Thursday, October 6 – Rams Head Live, Baltimore, MD
Tuesday, October 11 – Shinjuku Liquid Room, Tokyo, Japan
Wednesday, October 12 – Club Quattro, Umeda, Japan

Supporting Alabama Shakes  8/12-13
You’re Jovian supporting 7/25
With Sufjan Stevens 8/7
Pal Jenkins supporting 8/9
Heron Oblivion supporting 8/11
Supporting Ryan Adams 8/17
Supporting Wilco 8/19-20
The Sadies supporting 8/23-27
2/4-8 w/ My Morning Jacket, Gary Clark Jr., The Head and the Heart, Deer Tick