Kurt Vile & The Violators : North American Tour Starts Today

I was availling myself of those popular ride-sharing services in North Austin very late one night last weekend and Kurt Vile’s “Pretty Pimpin'” came on over the stereo courtesy of the local NPR affiliate. Thinking I was performing some sort of surreptitious market research, I quizzed the driver about how often the station in question play the song (non-stop, apparently) and whether or not he was a fan.

Anyhow, perhaps my tone wasn’t appropriately reverential ; maybe it was the way I passed out 3 minutes into my new friend’s explanation of how many Kurt Vile records he owns, but either way, I was politely asked to exit the vehicle several blocks (or was it miles?) from my destinations (we might’ve been in the woods). Maybe he thought we were reenacting a scene from “The Big Lebowski”, I really can’t tell you for sure. But this unpleasant experience has taught me a couple of important things :

a) KV and The Violators are hitting some big rooms starting tonight and unless you wanna have your nose pressed against a cold fence trying to hear what’s going on, you’ll procure a ticket ASAP.
b) don’t pester your ride share driver with any music or music-business related chit-chat. These men and women work very hard and who cares if they’re into Kool Moe Dee, Lady Pank or the Pointed Sticks? The important thing is they’re trying get you home in one piece without hearing some incoherent story about the time you beat Richie Kotzen in a game of H-O-R-S-E.

Wednesday, February 17 – College Street, New Haven CT
Thursday, February 18 – Pearl Street, Northampton MA
Friday, February 19 – Higher Ground, Burlington VT SOLD OUT
Saturday, February 20 – Corona Theatre, Montreal, QUE SOLD OUT
Sunday, February 21 – The Haunt, Ithaca NY SOLD OUT
Monday, February 22 – Mr. Smalls, Pittsburgh PA
Wednesday, February 24 – Headliners, Louisville TN
Thursday, February 25 – Marathon Music Works, Nashville TN
Friday, February 26 – Orange Peel, Asheville NC
Saturday, February 27 – Variety Playhouse, Atlanta GA SOLD OUT
Sunday, February 28 – Saturn, Birmingham AL
Monday, February 29 – Proud Larry’s, Oxford MS
Wednesday, March 2 – Bijou Theatre, Knoxville TN
Thursday, March 3 – Cats Cradle, Carrboro NC SOLD OUT
Friday, March 4 – Ottobar, Baltimore MD SOLD OUT
Tuesday, March 8 Paris, France – Alhambra
Wednesday, March 9 Ghent, Belgium – Handelsbeurs
Thursday, March 10 London, UK – Roundhouse
Friday, March 11 Brighton, UK – All Saint’s Church
Saturday, March 12 Utrecht, Netherlands – Tivoli
Sunday, March 13 Nijmegen, Netherlands – Doornroosje
Thursday, March 31 Buffalo Asbury Hall
Friday, April 1 Cleveland Heights Grog Shop
Saturday, April 2 Columbus Newport Music Hall
Sunday, April 3 Bloomington The Bluebird
Tuesday, April 5 Milwaukee Pabst Theater
Wednesday, April 6 Champaign The Accord
Friday, April 8 Lawrence The Granada
Saturday, April 9 Omaha The Waiting Room
Sunday, April 10 – Mission Creek Festival, Iowa City, IA
Monday, April 11 Columbia The Blue Note
Tuesday, April 12 Tulsa Cain’s Ballroom
Thursday, April 14 Houston House of Blues
Friday, April 15 Austin Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre
Saturday, April 16 Dallas Granada Theater
Sunday, April 17 New Orleans, Republic New Orleans
Friday, May 20 – Sunday May 22 – Hangout Music Festival, Gulf Shores
Saturday, May 28 Burnaby BC Festival Lawn at Deer Lake Park (with Alabama Shakes)
May 27-30 George, WA Sasquatch Music Festival

June 9-11 Manchester TN Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival
Sunday, August 7 – Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles CA
Friday, August 12 – Greek Theatre, Berkeley CA (with Alabama Shakes)
Wednesday, August 17 – Red Rocks, Morrison CO (with Ryan Adams)

Xylouris White supporting 2/17-28
Spacin’ supporting 2/28-3/4

(photo courtesy @flowerwheel76)

order ‘b’lieve I’m going down’ from the following :
The Matador Store
iTunes
Amazon
Kurt’s Store
Google Play

Kurt Vile online :

WEBSITE – http://kurtvile.com/
FACEBOOK – https://www.facebook.com/kurtvileofphilly
TWITTER – https://twitter.com/therealkurtvile
INSTAGRAM – https://instagram.com/kurtvile/
TUMBLR (NEW) – http://therealkurtvile.tumblr.com/