VIDEO : Kurt Vile – “Pretty Pimpin”, From ‘b’lieve i’m goin down… ‘ (Coming September 25)

(photo by Marina Chavez)

“Pretty Pimpin“, directed by Daniel Henry

Having been the subject and willing conspirator of many intentional lies planted in Sonic Youth bios over the years, I know first hand the way album lore can bend reality to its truth. After the infamous Byron Coley originated the SY “Trilogy” myth in the Murray Street bio, we had no choice but to fulfill those expectations with Sonic Nurse. “Why did you decide to make a trilogy?” was always the first question asked in interviews around that time.

But this is Kurt Vile’s bio, and I wont do that to him. Anyway, Kurt does his own myth making; a boy/man with an old soul voice in the age of digital everything becoming something else, which is why this focused, brilliantly clear and seemingly candid record is a breath of fresh air.  Recorded and mixed in a number of locations, including Los Angeles and Joshua Tree, b’lieve i’m goin down… is a handshake across the country, east to west coast, thru the dustbowl history (“valley of ashes”) of woody honest strait forward talk guthrie, and a cali canyon dead still nite floating in a nearly waterless landscape. The record is all air, weightless, bodyless, but grounded in convincing authenticity, in the best version of singer songwriter upcycling. In Kurt’s words, “I wanted to get back into the habit of writing a sad song on my couch, with nobody waiting on me. I really wanted it to sound like it’s on my couch — not in a lo-fi way, just more unguarded and vulnerable.”

For a record that plays like a cohesive acoustic experience, its musicality marks Kurt’s departure from an electric guitar experience to include a range of instrumentation with a large group of players. From the banjo he plays on “I’m an Outlaw” to the piano and lapsteel on “Life Like This,” and the myriad other instruments on other songs, including farfisa, resonator, arps, horns and synth, one never thinks about what exactly yr listening to as it all serves the song.

The heart of the record is “Stand Inside.” The music is quiet and the melody, like a hymn, folds in on itself, and embraces full strength in a sexy, floating forcelessness that slowly gathers into a wave that doesn’t go where you think it will or rather gives in to itself and celebrates a man willing to be defined by a woman and his love for her as witness to each other’s lives… Don’t stand by my side, stand inside gives up roleplaying for true exposure and vulnerability.

It’s a weird, accepting, mature record, acknowledging the inherent immaturity of being a person whether father, husband, partner, adult, musician, not perfect, but compelling for its understanding … that’s life though so sad to say… I love this record,
b’lieve i’m goin down.

Kim Gordon

TRACK LISTING – b’lieve i’m goin down…
1.Pretty Pimpin
2.I’m an Outlaw
3.Dust Bunnies
4.That’s Life, tho (almost hate to say)
6.Life Like This
7.All in a Daze Work
8.Lost my Head there
9.Stand Inside
10.Bad Omens
11.Kidding Around
12.Wild Imagination

b’lieve i’m goin down… is available on standard CD and double LP. A limited-edition triple LP expanded version, b’lieve i’m goin (deep) down…, features 6 bonus tracks.
iTunes and Amazon MP3 pre-orders both have an instant grat download of “Pretty Pimpin,” as well as two pre-order-only bonus tracks that disappear on release: “b’lieve i’m goin down” and “bad omens (no faders)”

Matador Store:
Kurt’s Store:
Google Play:

Friday October 2 Boston, MA – The Paradise * #
Saturday October 3 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival
Sunday October 4 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits
Wednesday October 7 New York, NY – Webster Hall * #
Thursday October 8 Washington DC – 9:30 Club * #
Friday October 9 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer * #
Saturday October 10 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival
Sunday October 11 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival
Wednesday October 14 Los Angeles, CA – Fonda Theater %
Friday October 16 San Francisco, CA – Filmore %
Saturday October 17 Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom %
Sunday October 18 Seattle, WA – The Showbox %
Wednesday October 21 Minneapolis, MN – Mill City Nights * #
Friday October 23 Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall * #
Saturday October 24 Detroit, MI – St Andrew’s Hall * #
Sunday October 25 Toronoto, ONT – Phoenix Theatre * #

Friday October 30 Paris, FR – Pitchfork Festival

Saturday October 31 Amsterdam, NL – London Calling @ Paradiso *
Sunday November 1 Brussel, Belgium – Autumn Falls @ AB-Box *
Tuesday November 3 Hamburg, Germany – Uebel & Gefahrlich *
Wednesday November 4 Aarhus, Denmark – Voxhall
Thursday November 5 Oslo, Norway – Rockefeller
Friday November 6 Stockholm, Sweden – Munchenbryggeriet *
Saturday November 7 Copenhangen, Demark – Amerbio *
Monday November 9 Berlin, Germany – Postbahnhof *
Tuesday November 10 Koln, Germany – Gebaeude 9 *
Wednesday November 11 Brighton, UK – Concorde 2 *
Thursday November 12 London, UK – Electric Ballroom*
Friday November 13 Bristol, UK – Motion *
Sunday November 15 Dublin, EIR – Vicar Street *
Monday November 16 Glasgow, UK – ABC1 *
Tuesday November 17 Leeds, UK – Leeds Uni Stylus *
Wednesday November 18 Manchester, UK – The Ritz *
Friday November 20 Lucerne, CH – Sudpol *
Saturday November 21 Lyon, France – Epicerie Moderne *
Sunday November 22 Barcelona, Spain – Apolo *
Monday November 23 Madrid, Spain – Penelope *
Tuesday November 24 Lisbon, Portugal – Armazem F *

* – with Waxahatchee
# – with Luke Roberts
% – with Cass McCombs and Heron Oblivion


One thought on “VIDEO : Kurt Vile – “Pretty Pimpin”, From ‘b’lieve i’m goin down… ‘ (Coming September 25)”

  1. This is so great. KV keeps making great records. Can I please just has all the music now

Comments are closed.