Matablog

coming June 17: Lower ‘Seek Warmer Climes’, listen to “Lost Weight, Perfect Skin” now

April 3rd, 2014 at 9:00 am by Robby

 

Following releases on 540, Escho and Blind Prophet, Lower‘s debut album ‘Seek Warmer Climes‘, will see release June 17th on Matador Records (Escho in Denmark, Big Love in Japan). The record sparkles with the harmonic dissonance and high-strung urgency of their underground rock forebears, but Copenhagen’s Lower ­– Adrian Toubro (vocals), Simon Formann (guitar), Kristian Emdal (bass) and Anton Rothstein (drums) – also channel the romance and drama of great singer-songwriters, from late-period Scott Walker to Bryan Ferry. The result is a hugely ambitious and affecting rock album that enters deeply personal and unusual sonic and topical spaces.

You don’t have to dig deep to hear how far Lower’s music sits from the traditional concerns of modern rock music. Toubro’s lyrics are finely wrought emotional dramas that, in their poetic construction and raw honesty of delivery. “Every song on the record deals in some way with personal development, be it emotional or cosmetic,” says Toubro. “How to act in different social contexts, and to acclimatize oneself into a given situation without losing face.”

Listen to the album’s third track, “Lost Weight, Perfect Skin” now

Pre-order ‘Seek Warmer Climes‘ – first pressing of the LP will be available on white vinyl

01. Another Life
02. Daft Persuasion
03. Lost Weight, Perfect Skin
04. Unkempt And Uncaring
05. Expanding Horizons (Dar Es Salaam)
06. Bastard Tactics
07. Soft Option
08. Craver
09. Tradition
10. Arrows

Ahead of release, the band will embark on a string US dates that will fall before the record’s release, as well as dates in the UK with Fucked Up.

Lower Tour Dates:

Thurs. May 1 – Sun. May 4 – SPOT Festival – Aarhus, DK
Fri. May 16 – Sat. May 17 – The Church On York – Los Angeles, CA (with Iceage, Puce Mary, Sexdrome)
Sun. May 18 – Wall Street – Phoenix, AZ
Mon. May 19 – Soda Bar – San Diego, CA
Tue. May 20 – Holland Project – Reno, NV
Wed. May 21 – Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco, CA
Thu. May 22 – 1234 Go! – Oakland, CA
Fri. May 23 – Munoz Boxing Gym – Bakersfield, CA
Sat. May 24 – E 7th Street – Los Angeles, CA
Tue. May 27 – Cafe Nine – New Haven, CT
Wed. May 28 – Home Sweet Home (Nothing Changes) – New York, NY
Thu. May 29 – Golden Tea House – Philadelphia, CA
Fri. May 30 – Acheron – Brooklyn, NY
Tue. June 10 – Point Ephemere – Paris, FR
Sun. June 15 – Gorilla – Manchester, UK (with Fucked Up)
Mon. June 16 – The Cluny – Newcastle, UK (with Fucked Up)
Tue. June 17 – Belgrave – Leeds, UK (with Fucked Up)
Wed. June 18 – Koko – London, UK (with Fucked Up)

http://matadorrecords.com/lower
http://walkonheads.blogspot.dk
https://www.facebook.com/lowercph

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • email

Comments are closed.