EMA – “So Blonde”

Today EMA debuted the second track from her upcoming album The Future’s Void, out April 8th. The song is accompanied by a music video collaboration with acclaimed in-tro-net artist Molly Soda, directed by Vice Cooler:

The Future’s Void is available to pre-order on CD, Cassette and LP (limited edition lavender vinyl!), and you can add a shirt at real value. iTunes and Amazon are taking orders, too, if that’s how you slice the pizza.

Erika M. Anderson had this to say about the video:

SO BLONDE. The smiling blonde white woman is the most exploited image in the world. Can we talk about that? How about discussing if the selfie is a new form of feminist art or just a direct descendant of capitalist advertising? No? Hmm… Yeah I couldn’t figure out how to put that into a video either. So how’s about I just roll around Venice Beach wearing a Jim Morrison Tshirt while gifs by Molly Soda bounce in and out? Ok! That works! The semiotics of palm trees! Everyone gets the short-hand of SoCal. It’ll look great, be fun, and still gets to ask the important questions: How many bits do we have to reduce the dancing blonde babe to before she is no longer a symbol of sexiness? At what point do tits become simply bits? And who owns the sparkly dolphin anyway???

EMA is hitting the road soon:

March 8 – 10 (SXSW Interactive)
March 12 – 15 (SXSW Music)

Thursday April 24 – Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel
Friday April 25 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge
Saturday April 26 – Philadelphia, PA – Voyeur
Sunday April 27 – Chapel Hill, NC – Local 506
Tuesday April 29 – Atlanta, GA – Drunken Unicorn
Wednesday April 30 – Nashville, TN – The High Watt
Thursday May 1 – St. Louis, MO – Off Broadway
Saturday May 3 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon
Sunday May 4 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
Monday May 5 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick Lounge
Tuesday May 6 – Toronto, ON – Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Wednesday May 7 – Montreal, QC – Il Motore
Friday May 9 – Brooklyn, NY – Rough Trade
Saturday May 10 – Allston, MA – Great Scott
Saturday, May 17 – Aarhus, Denmark – Pop Revo Festival
Sunday, May 18 – Oslo, Norway – John Dee
Monday, May 19 – Stavanger, Norway – Stavanger Folken
Wednesday, May 21 – Hamburg, Germany – Uebel & Gefährlich
Thursday, May 22 – Koln, Germany – Blue Shell
Friday, May 23 – Berlin, Germany – Prince Charles
Sunday, May 25 – Padova, Italy – Macello
Monday, May 26 – Rome, Italy – Circolo degli Artisti
Tuesday, May 27 – Marina di Ravenna, Italy – Hana Bi
Wednesday, May 28 – Zurich, Switzerland – Bogen
Friday, May 30 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso
Saturday, May 31 – Mannheim, Germany – Maifeld Derby Festival
Sunday, June 1 – Gent, Belgium – DOK-Box
Monday, June 2 – Paris, France – Le Point Ephemere
Tuesday, June 3 – London, UK – The Garage
Wednesday, June 4 – Manchester, UK – Deaf Institute
Thursday, June 5 – Leeds, UK – Brudnell Social Club
Friday, June 6 – Bristol, UK – The Lantern
Monday June 23 – Boise, ID – The Crux
Tuesday June 24 – Salt Lake City, UT – Kilby Court
Wednesday June 25 – Denver, CO – Lost Lake
Friday June 27 – Albuquerque, NM – Low Spirits
Saturday June 28 – Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom
Sunday June 29 – San Diego, CA – Casbah
Tuesday July 1 – Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
Wednesday July 2 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent

Downtown Boys support April 24 through May 10
Trust also support on May 4
Mas Ysa supports June 23 – July 2

http://www.thefuturesvoid.net
https://twitter.com/EMAthorstar
http://instagram.com/_ema_usa_#
http://emathefuturesvoid.tumblr.com
https://www.facebook.com/cameouttanowhere