Matablog

Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks “Wig Out At Jagbags” out Jan 7, new song “Lariat”

November 12th, 2013 at 7:30 am by Nils

Resolution this! WIG OUT AT JAGBAGS. #WigOutJicks

January 7 (January 6 in the UK) marks the release of the new Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks album, Wig Out At Jagbags, their first since 2011′s Mirror Traffic, which follows a short period of Malkmus being relocated to Berlin. Malkmus sez:

“Wig Out At Jagbags is inspired by Cologne, Germany, Mark Von Schlegell, Rosemarie Trockel, Von Spar and Jan Lankisch, Can and Gas; Stephen-Malkmus-imagined Weezer/Chili Peppers, Sic Alps, UVA in the late 80′s, NYRB, Aroma Charlottenburg, inactivity, Jamming, Indie guys trying to sound Memphis, Flipper, Pete Townshend, Pavement, The Joggers, The NBA and home life in the 2010′s …”

Track listing:
1. Planetary Motion
2. The Janitor Revealed
3. Lariat
4. Houston Hades
5. Shibboleth
6. J Smoov
7. Rumble At The Rainbo
8. Chartjunk
9. Independence Street
10. Scattegories
11. Cinnamon and Lesbians
12. Surreal Teenagers

Écoutez “Lariat” ici:

YouTube Preview Image

Matador Store Pre-order:
Pre-orders from the Matador store receive pre-order-only “Pick Up The Spare” 7” (single sided 7” on strawberry red vinyl) – while supplies last!

iTunes Pre-order:
Pre-order from iTunes receive a download of “Lariat” instantly, and non-album track “Pick Up The Spare” on release date.

The band will be touring UK/Europe in January, with US dates to follow starting in Feb:

Mon Jan 13 — 
Leeds | Brudenell
Tue Jan 14 — 
Glasgow | Oran Mor
Wed Jan 15 — 
Manchester | Gorilla
Thu Jan 16 — 
London | Forum
Sat Jan 18 — 
Paris | Divan Du Monde
Mon Jan 20 — 
Madrid | Joy Eslava
Tue Jan 21 — 
Barcelona | Bikini
Thu Jan 23 — 
Milan | Tunnel
Sat Jan 25 — 
Fribourg | Fri-Son
Sun Jan 26 — 
Frankfurt | Zoom
Mon Jan 27 — 
Berlin | Postbahnhof
Wed Jan 29 — 
Copenhagen |Vega
Thu Jan 30 — 
Hamburg | Knust
Fri Jan 31 — 
Cologne | Gebaude 9
Sat Feb 1 — Brussels | Botanique Orangerie
Sun Feb 2 — Amsterdam | Bitterzoet

photo by Leah Nash

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • email

One Response to “Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks “Wig Out At Jagbags” out Jan 7, new song “Lariat””

  1. Dave Says:

    Please?