Matablog

Archive for October, 2013

Listen to Iceage’s forthcoming covers 7″ & see them on tour

By Robby on Thursday, October 3rd, 2013

As we type, Iceage are closing out 2013 with worldwide tour dates in support of the year’s essential You’re Nothing LP.  To round out the year Iceage returned to the studio earlier this month to record a covers 7″ to be released on November 19 in partnership with Denmark’s Escho Records.

Entitled To The Comrades, the 7″ contains an incendiary cover of South Africa’s Bahumutsi Drama Group‘s anthem of the same name & a smoldering take on Sinead O’Connor‘s “Jackie”. You can listen to both tracks below & pre-order the vinyl at the Matador Store.


 

Also, come November 19th. We’ll be releasing a digital-only deluxe version of You’re Nothing featuring the album, these covers and 1 b-side.  Keep an eye on the Matablog for more info on that soon.

Thu. Oct. 3 – Budapest, HU @ Durer Kert
Fri. Oct. 4 – Vienna, AT @ Waves Vienna
Sat. Oct. 5 – Prague, CZ @ Pilot Club
Sun. Oct. 6 – Berlin, DE @ West Germany

Tue. Oct. 8 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium w/ the Videos
Wed. Oct. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop w/ the Videos
Thu. Oct. 10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo w/ The Men (Culture Collide Festival)
Sun. Oct. 13 – Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Music Festival
Tue. Oct. 15 – Brooklyn, NY @ The Acheron w/ Believer, Law
Wed. Oct. 16 – Brooklyn, NY @ The Acheron w/ Survival

Thu. Oct. 31 – Paris, FR @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Fri. Nov. 1 – Toulouse, FR @ Dynamo
Sat. Nov. 2 – Oviedo, ESP @ Whippoorwill
Sun. Nov. 3 – Madrid, ESP @ Charada
Mon. Nov. 4 – Barcelona ESP @ Apolo 2
Tue. Nov. 5 – Milan, IT @ Rocket
Wed. Nov. 6 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Fri. Nov. 8 – Den Haag, NL @ Rewire Festival
Sat. Nov. 9 – London, UK @ Old Blue Last

Fri. Nov. 22 – Moscow, RUS @ Manifest
Sat. Nov. 23 – St Petersburg, RUS @ Chetvert

Lee Ranaldo & The Dust – ‘Last Night On Earth’ album premiere

By Gerard on Tuesday, October 1st, 2013

We’re a week away from the release of Lee Ranaldo & The Dust’s ‘Last Night On Earth’, hailed by one observer as “a guitar masterclass”, and we’re pleased to announce you can preview the album in full via the following two outlets  ;

Pandora Premieres
Clash Music

‘Last Night On Earth’ is available for preorder from the Matador Store on 2XLP, compact disc and digital formats.. You can preorder the album from iTunes here

Tour dates after the jump :

(more…)

DARKSIDE will perform live on Boiler Room tonight + packaging photos!

By Robby on Tuesday, October 1st, 2013

Tonight, DARKSIDE (Nicolas Jaar & Dave Harrington) will be performing many of the songs from ‘Psychic’ live for the first time on the rooftop of the practice space where they’ve been brewing up some live magic for the past few months. Boiler Room will be there to capture and live stream the set. Tune in at 6:45 EST at BoilerRoom.TV

As previously mentioned, you can stream Psychic in full now over at Other People and NPR ‘First Listen’ this week.

 

 

Pre-order DARKSIDE Psychic (out October 8, 2013 via Other People & Matador Records)
2xLP
CD
iTunes

DARKSIDE on the web:

http://www.darksideusa.com
http://www.other-people.net
https://twitter.com/DarksideUSA
https://www.facebook.com/DarksideUSA
http://www.matadorrecords.com/darkside