Matablog

Kurt Vile – Wakin On A Pretty Daze and Wakin On a Pretty Day

February 11th, 2013 at 10:00 am by Patrick

Kurt Vile’s new album WAKIN ON A PRETTY DAZE will come out on April 9. He recorded it with producer John Agnello at a multitude of different studios throughout the Northeast in the second half of last year. It is a 69-minute long double album.

Check out the opening track WAKIN ON A PRETTY DAY. You can download it as an MP3 or listen on YouTube, accompanied by outtake footage from the Steve Powers (ESPO) documentary about the album cover mural. (Note: this is NOT the music video. The real video will be revealed in good time.)

Wakin On A Pretty Day (192k mp3)

Track list:

Side A:
1. Wakin On A Pretty Day
2. KV Crimes
3. Was All Talk

Side B:
4. Girl Called Alex
5. Never Run Away
6. Pure Pain

Side C:
7. Too Hard
8. Shame Chamber
9. Snowflakes Are Dancing

Side D:
10. Air Bud
11. Goldtone

The record will of course be available on several different formats, as follows:

Standard double vinyl gatefold with printed innersleeves and lyric sheet

Deluxe double vinyl gatefold with different cover depicting the blank building wall before Steve Powers painted it, and including a sticker sheet of the Powers paintings so that you can customize your own album artwork. This version includes the printed innersleeves and lyric sheet, but is also on limited, numbered BLUE VINYL.

First edition CD will be in a mini-gatefold like the LP cover, with the disc in a printed innersleeve in one pocket, and fold-out lyric sheet and insert in the other pocket.

PREORDER THE PHYSICAL EDITIONS HERE

The iTunes preorder, available as of tomorrow, February 12, will include an instant download of “Wakin On A Pretty Day” PLUS a preorder-only bonus track entitled “The Ghost Of Freddy Roach.” You can only get this bonus track by preordering the album at iTunes. You’ll receive the track on the April 9 release date along with the full album.

PREORDER THE iTUNES EDITION HERE

More news. If you’re in New York City, we’re going to be heading over to the legendary Electric Lady Studios tomorrow (Tuesday, February 12) to listen to the album in all its glory and have some drinks, specifically a custom-made cocktail entitled the Pretty Daze. Interested in attending? Head over to Brooklyn Vegan for a chance to win! Space is extremely limited!

photo by Shawn Brackbill

Kurt isn’t just releasing a record, he’s also touring, with the Violators backing him up:

Sun, Apr 14 – Indio CA – Coachella Festival
Sun, Apr 21 – Indio CA – Coachella Festival
Sun, May 4 – Atlanta GA – Shaky Knees Festival
Mon, May 5 – Atlanta GA – Shaky Knees Festival
Tue, May 7 – Los Angeles CA – Echoplex # *
Wed, May 8 – San Francisco CA – Independent *
Fri, May 10 – Portland OR – Doug Fir # *
Sat, May 11 – Vancouver BC – Biltmore # *
Sun, May 12 – Seattle WA – Neumos # *
Tue, May 14 – Chicago IL – Lincoln Hall *
Thu, May 16 – New York NY – Bowery Ballroom * !
Fri, May 17 – Boston MA – The Sinclair * !
Sat, May 18 – Philadelphia PA – Union Transfer * !
Fri, May 24 – Barcelona ES – Primavera Sound Festival
Sat, May 25 – London GB – Field Day
Sun, May 26 – Brussels BE – AB
Mon, May 27 – Amsterdam NL – Paradiso
Tue, May 28 – Hamburg DE – Knust
Wed, May 29 – Copenhagen DK – Amager Bio

# The Fresh & Onlys
* Steve Gunn
! Angel Olsen

Tickets for all the US dates go on sale Feb 15 except LA (Feb 16) and Seattle (on sale today).

kurtvile.com

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • email

One Response to “Kurt Vile – Wakin On A Pretty Daze and Wakin On a Pretty Day”

  1. Ray Says:

    What about NEW ORLEANS, friend?