Stephen Malkmus – free song from the upcoming album

June 8th, 2011 at 7:00 am by Patrick

Hear a free song from the new album by Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks, Mirror Traffic (out August 23). The fifth Malkmus album was recorded by Beck in Los Angeles over the past two and a half years, and contains 15 songs. This one is entitled “Senator”:

Senator (192k mp3)

Preorder the album from the Matador Store and receive a free poster. In addition, the first 100 orders will receive a rare flexidisc of “Jo Jo’s Jacket,” OLE-493, released as a promotional item for the first Stephen Malkmus album in December 2000.

The vinyl edition of Mirror Traffic is a 3-sided LP with an etching on side 4.

Be Sociable, Share!

9 Responses to “Stephen Malkmus – free song from the upcoming album”

  1. casey Says:

    Yay! Very much looking forward to this record! Thanks, Matador, SM, and the Jicks!

  2. Shel Greenberg Says:

    Thanks for the free tune! I can’t wait to purchase it direct from your website. I have been supporting Matador since my early teen years in the mid 80s (ouch … don’t even try to figure out my age — but I love that all the musicians my age and older and still cranking out the tunes)

    Cheers and play at maximum volume,

  3. Patrick Says:

    Edited to add the preorder link & details.

  4. Felipe SparXXX Says:

    Suave, very suave tune.

  5. Guy Shield Says:

    Thanks Malkmus and Matador! I’ve been waiting so long for this track and it’s failed to disappointed! Looking forward to the whole album.

  6. Miss Pornstar Says:

    what the senator wants is… 😀

  7. james Says:

    I take it this means there’ll not be a begn for this? Still great news though 🙂

  8. Patrick Says:

    No BEGN, no – that opportunity is typically triggered by having tons of extra material to work with for bonuses, and we don’t have that in this instance.

  9. Marcelo Says:

    Great Sound!! I’m looking forward to the release of the album in Brazil!