Matablog

Jay Reatard European Tour Kicks Off Tonight

October 28th, 2009 at 12:40 pm by Judge

DSC_0006

Photos by David McKenzie Grant

Jay Reatard and his new band are starting their European tour tonight in France, all the dates can be found below. As previously billed, he’s playing with the Cola Freaks as his new band and by all accounts they’re raring to go as this statement from Mr Reatard attests…

“Life has been great since I’ve been here in Aarhus (Denmark) the last ten days. Working on music all day, walking a half hour to the rehearsal studio, playing with the Cola Freaks all night.  With the last band it was all overplaying – turn it up, play it fast – but the songs got lost in all the distortion. This new band makes the songs in a way sound more pure by scaling back and putting more emphasis on the melody and the changes. It sounds exactly the I wanted these songs to sound like live when I wrote them.

We added a lot of new songs to the live set. There’s already been a secret show in Aarhus before we start a 12 country European tour before coming right back for those Pixies shows.  Can’t wait for those.

I also recorded a cover of Chris Knox’s first band The Enemy – a version of “Pull Back The Shades” for a Chris Knox tribute album.  I did it right in the bathroom of my hotel room here – put the computer on the sink, recorded the guitar and vocals sitting right on the toilet!”

DSC_0037

L-R Jacob Elving (drums), Jay Lindsey (Flying V),  Anders Thode (bass)

Wed Oct 28 Paris, Maroquinerie

Thu Oct 29 Cologne, Luxor

Fri Oct 30 Munich, 59 to 1

Sat Oct 31 Berlin, Lido

Sun Nov 1 Copenhagen, Loppen

Mon Nov 2 Oslo, Parkteatret

Tue Nov3 Malmo, Mejeriet

Wed Nov 4 Hamburg, Logo

Thu Nov 5 Prague, Matrix

Fri Nov 6 Vienna, B72

Sat Nov 7 Bologna, Covo

Sun Nov 8 Clermont Ferrand, Coop de Mai

Mon Nov 9 Brussels, Botanique Rotonde

Tue Nov 10 Birmingham, Bar Academy

Wed Nov 11 Glasgow, King Tuts

Thu Nov 12 Manchester, Roadhouse

Fri Nov 13 London, Underworld

Sat Nov 14 Bristol, Croft

Sun Nov 15 Liverpool, Masque

Mon Nov 16 Dublin, Whelans

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • email

One Response to “Jay Reatard European Tour Kicks Off Tonight”

  1. Nicolas Says:

    His european tour began by a canceled show in Paris (just one hour before doors opened)…