Matablog

Shearwater — The Snow Leopard EP

September 29th, 2008 at 8:55 am by Patrick

Cover art features a detail of Hardriim, from City Of Salt, by Kahn + Selesnick

On October 14 Shearwater will be releasing The Snow Leopard. This digital EP draws its title track from June’s critically lauded Rook, and adds many of the non-album B-sides and giveaway tracks, plus several striking recordings from radio sessions over the past few months. All fully and beautifully remastered. As with Rook, the cover art derives from the work of the artists Kahn + Selesnick. The complete track listing can be found underneath the tour dates, below. Special pricing and preorder deal will be available shortly from the Matador Store.

For those of you who haven’t yet discovered Rook, download a 192k MP3 of the song “The Snow Leopard” here:

The Snow Leopard (192k MP3) Now get the REMASTERED version of the song from the new EP:

The Snow Leopard (192k MP3)

Shearwater will be touring in support of the EP:

Mon, Oct 13 Chicago IL – Lakeshore Theater – with Hospital Ships
Tue, Oct 14 Cleveland OH – Beachland Tavern – with Hospital Ships
Wed, Oct 15 Washington DC – Kennedy Ctr — Millennium Stage, 7 PM 6 PM SET TIME, FREE
Fri, Oct 17 Annandale NY – Bard College
Sun, Oct 19 Boston MA – Cafe 939 at Berklee – with Hospital Ships
Mon, Oct 20 New York NY – Le Poisson Rouge – with Hospital Ships
Fri, Oct 24 Asheville NC – Grey Eagle (stripped-down set)
Sat, Oct 25 Durham NC – Duke Coffee House (stripped-down set)
Sun, Oct 26 Atlanta GA – Drunken Unicorn (stripped-down set) CANCELED BUT STAY TUNED FOR POSSIBLE REPLACEMENT

Fri, Nov 7 Brussels BE – Botanique
Sat, Nov 8 Antwerp BE De Nachten
Sun, Nov 9 Utrecht NL – Tivoli
Mon, Nov 10 Rouen FR – Club 106 – with Silver Mt. Zion
Tue, Nov 11 Paris FR – Le Bataclan with Silver Mt. Zion
Wed, Nov 12 Feyzin FR – L’Epicerie Moderne
Thu, Nov 13 St-Gallen CH – Palace
Fri, Nov 14 Lausanne CH – Le Romandie
Sun, Nov 16 Schorndorf DE – Manufaktur
Mon, Nov 17 Berlin DE – Postbahnhof with Okkervil River
Tue, Nov 18 Dresden DE – Beatpol
Wed, Nov 19 Hamburg DE – Nachtasyl
Thu, Nov 20 Ghent BE – Vooruit
Fri, Nov 21 The Hague NL – Crossing Borders Festival
Sat, Nov 22 London UK – St. Giles in the Fields Church
Sun, Nov 23 Coventry UK – Taylor John’s House
Mon, Nov 24 Brighton UK – Komedia

OLE-850 Shearwater The Snow Leopard digital EP
(available from all digital stores October 14):

1. The Snow Leopard (album version)
2. So Bad (iTunes bonus track)
3. North Col (vinyl and iTunes bonus track)
4. Henry Lee (live from KUT)
5. Rooks (live from Radio K)
6. I Was A Cloud (live from Radio K)
7. South Col / The Snow Leopard (live from Florence Gould Hall, NYC)

Track 2, “So Bad,” is a Baby Dee cover. Track 4, “Henry Lee,” is an American traditional song recorded by Nick Cave and Peggy Seeger among others.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • email

4 Responses to “Shearwater — The Snow Leopard EP”

  1. stefan karnstuen Says:

    please please please have a little mini-tour in Norway.

  2. Patrick Says:

    MP3 now replaced with the remastered version of the song from MP3.

  3. Patrick Says:

    DC set time change to 6 PM (still a FREE SHOW)… Atlanta show canceled but keep checking this page for news of a possible replacement.

  4. Paul C Says:

    Rooks is fantastic. So fine to get thoughtful, genuinely creative music. Australia awaits you.